We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service/good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkland Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Alma B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Poor service/good food”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We waited to enter the restaurant while the counter person/host took a room reservation. Meantime customers lined up to pay their bill and to enter the restaurant. After sitting down, we waited 20 minutes to get water on the table. The food was another 20 minutes. The waitress did not ask how our food was and neither did the host as we were paying our bill. I expected better service but maybe they can get away with it because they can. If you do not have any deadlines or you plan to spend a couple of hours when you eat then this is a good place for you. Other wise avoid this place. Our food was tasty and nicely done. It's too bad the service didn't live up to the article on the wall which said "run like a Swiss clock".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytoRetire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    64
    23
    15
    20
See reviews for
77
135
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I'm reviewing the tides restaurant only which is part of the Parkland Village Inn. A local warned us that the place can have long wait times but we had eaten at the Harbour View Market across the street the night before and wanted to try a different place to eat. Big mistake. We ordered some soups and wraps and ended up waiting for 40 minutes while they mixed up our order. We watched people who ordered behind us get their food, and asked about ours. It was coming we were told. After another 15 minutes or so, we were told they had forgotten our appetizer but everything else was ready. All this with just a little "sorry, but things get crazy around here". We never went back again. The food is ok but it's better at the Harbour View Market with about the same price for a nice efficient sit-down dinner as the take-out food from Tides.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limepunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Did not stay at the hotel but as the restaurant had an extensive menu, we thought it would be a good place for our daughter, who is celiac, to find something she could eat. we were seated promptly and then waited for 20 minutes for someone to come to give us menus and ask for drink orders. The servers who were taking care of other tables would not meet our eyes. My husband went to find a server and she finally showed up with a surly attitude. It took another 15 minutes for the drinks to show up and another 30 minutes before the food arrived at our table. I do not remember what the food tasted like as I was royally ticked off by that point. The server never came back to see if the food was ok or if we needed refills on our drinks. I flagged her down again and asked for a refill of our drinks. By that point we had finished our dinner. 10 minutes went by again and the drinks did not appear. I sent my husband and daughter out to the car and went to the front desk to cancel the refills and get my bill. I talked to the restaurant manager at the front desk but did not get any apologies from him or reassurances that it was not normally like that. I would never eat in that place again and would not recommend it to anyone. I was shocked that kind of service is allowed in a restaurant in a small town that depends on the tourist trade.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Newfygirl_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Parkland Village Inn. A nice motel, with verandahs or balconies, overlooking the Bay of Fundy, complete with high and low tide views. The rooms were adequate, although, there is no air conditioning. There was free wireless internet available and a restaurant and lounge on site.

We ate at the Parkland Village Inn restaurant, called The Tides and had a good meal of lobster and seafood pasta, but were told by an earlier diner that service was horrible and not to eat there. She was also vocal to the management, but didn't get anywhere. We found the chef and bartender to be very friendly. They just happen to be father and son, as the motel is family-run.

People were very friendly. We were there at an extremely busy time of year, apparently the blue collar workers in Quebec get the last two weeks of July off and many spend it in NB, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempestt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Beautiful room with a fantastic view!

The inn is on the main street, but even in the height of tourist season, it was very quiet. There are rooms that face the street, but we chose to have a room with a little balcony on the 3rd floor, facing the Bay of Fundy. In the morning while my husband slept in, I took a book out on the balcony in the fresh morning air and read for a bit - very peaceful.

The service from the hotel staff was swift and efficient, despite doing double duty as the reception for the restaurant as well.

The internet reception was stable, and a secured wireless connection.

The bed was a good one, but we prefer a somewhat softer mattress.

An elevator would have been appreciated (we carry far too much stuff).

As an amateur photographer, I would have liked to spend days there capturing the ebb and flow of the tides.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The family run Tides Restaurant at Pakland Village Inn is fantastic. Chef prepared entrees are superb from steaks to seafood specialties. Walls of picture windows allow overseeing
the Bay of Fundy & watching lobster boats return to the wharf with their catch.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yellowstone60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel was very pleasant, our room lovely with a separate sitting/TV area, overlooking the ocean & harbor. My one criticism was that there was no hairdryer in the room. The staff were very helpful, they even let us borrow their phone to call our kids when our cellphone didn't work & we couldn't use our creditcard on the complicated phone system! The bar was friendly & served the best fish chowder I've ever tasted! The seafood in the restaurant was delicious...from boat to plate!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
0.0 mi away
Alpine Motor Inn
Alpine Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alma
100 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
24.3 mi away
Pinecone Motel
Pinecone Motel
#1 of 5 in Sussex
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Florentine Manor
Florentine Manor
#1 of 2 in Harvey
48 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Artisan Suites
The Artisan Suites
#2 of 5 in Hopewell Cape
66 reviews
13.2 mi away
New Horton Lake Inn
New Horton Lake Inn
#174 of 206 in New Brunswick
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkland Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkland Village Inn

Property: Parkland Village Inn
Address: 8601 Main St, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1N6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Alma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkland Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Main Street, adjacent to the Alma Fishermen's Wharf, the Parkland Village Inn is a short walk from the beach and main shops, and only five minutes away from the Fundy National Park entrance gate.     Guests love the spaciousness and convenience of our standard and deluxe inn rooms and our two-room ocean-view suites.  They are perfect for those who want to be close to everything and yet have room to spread out and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkland Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkland Village Inn Alma, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing