We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST LOBSTER ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alma Lobster Shop

Alma Lobster Shop
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are open daily 10-8 pm. We invite you to enjoy fresh cooked lobsters on our enclosed patio, with salads, rolls, hot butter and beverage of your choosing while viewing Fundy's Giant tides. Also have fresh steamed mussels and hot butter, fresh lobster rolls, snow crab or seafood chowder. For those who don't want seafood, we have grill cheese and chicken burgers. Free WIFI
Ottawa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“BEST LOBSTER ANYWHERE”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lobster - any size - so fresh - so sweet - a super bargain...

Unfortunately, it bis so good that you will never enjoy lobster again at home.

Prepared to go - just buy some nice white wine at ther corner store.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DYNAMICREGGAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    70
    13
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miniota, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Get Your Lobster Here!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I checked out the prices at some of the lobster shops in town and ended up buying a cooked 5 lb. lobster to share from the "Alma Lobster Shop". They give you a better price on the bigger lobsters and we weren't disappointed in the taste at all. It was so good, and not only did it feed us both for supper, we had enough left over to have for lunch the next day. So glad we were in town during lobster season!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janajoseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“our first supper”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our first supper was thanks to the Lobster Shop. My daughter had lobster a couple of times before, but was always presented as a cut-open lobster tail with the trimmings. This time, it was a full lobster, surrounded with mussels. The look on her face was priceless - but she managed to eat everything. As for my youngest daughter, it was her first time trying mussels - she couldn't get enough, she loved them. A first experience for the kids.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Serge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really interesting place”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really tasty lobsters bought here and very helpful service. The coolest thing is that they have a tank filled with odd lobsters, crab and such. Lobsters with blue on them or 3 claws, etc. Very cool.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockyMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Straightforward. Get a freshly cooked lobster, and eat it.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Pick a cooked lobster based on its size/price (written with black marker on one of its claws). They'll cut open the main bits to help the amateurs (like we were). They put it on a tray, with napkins, picks, pincers etc. Walk outside and sit at a picnic table, and blast away at the lobster. The cooked lobster is sitting on ice so it is cold, but it is far more reasonably priced than buying the 'market price lobster' in the various restaurants in Alma (we ordered lobster in two other restaurants in Alma, and got nowhere near the amount of lobster as we did at the Alma Lobster shop). The smoked salmon was also excellent. I HIGHLY recommend this place for you to get your lobster fix satiated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma Lobster Shop also viewed

 
Alma, Albert County
Alma, Albert County
 
Alma, Albert County
 

Been to Alma Lobster Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing