We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town!”

An Octopus' Garden Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our healthy menu is created around local produce. We offer an outside patio, kids play area, free internet, live music, beer, wine and liquor, local art, locally roasted fair trade coffee and espresso, and organic whole foods grown on our own farm. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. We are open from 7am-11pm
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a break from fast food for the family and this place was awesome. We sat in the loft upstairs which had a bunch of old books and toys to keep us and the kids busy while we waited. The food came quickly and was all delicious. We had two soup and sandwich combos (corn chowder, tomato herb soup, blt and salami and cheese) and a chili plus a coffee and water. All the food was piping hot, fresh and homemade. It was a welcome respite from the insane tourist trap prices and crappy food everywhere else in Alma. The kids cried when we had to leave. We highly recommend it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    81
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing Cafe with Excellent Coffee/Baked Treats”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a great little treasure on the main stretch in Alma, NB. Love the specialty coffees and teas. Also the baked goods are amazing! They have local entertainment there frequently in the evenings. A great place to go on a rainy day in Fundy or an evening. There is a loft with board games for the family as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank poohbr_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent homemade pasta!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

While staying in the village of Alma for 3 days, the owners of our B&B recommended An Octopus Garden. AMAZING PASTA!!!! They were extremely busy that night since the biggest local restaurant was closed for a wedding. They offered us a table for our family of four in the lounge area upstairs and although we were skeptical at first, we soon felt very at ease with our glass of wine and the kids with their homemade lime and mint iced tea. This was then followed by a lovely fresh garden salad and bread..... and then our big family bowl of pasta!! We are pasta lovers and have eaten in many italian restaurants and we have to say that this was one of the best pastas we have ever had!!!! They make the pasta fresh daily and the sauce is prepared from scratch for each order. It was absolutely delicious. The staff was friendly and made every effort to accomodate us and make sure we were happy and enjoying our meal. We soon realized that ambiance is much less important than great staff and great food...a real maritime experience minus the seafood!! They also had live entertainment that was very good (I believe very Saturday evening). It was altogether a great experience and excellent pasta. Every other restaurant serves fish and seafood which we really enjoy but this was a good change up and we told the chef before leaving that it was one of the best pastas we have ever had and to the staff to stick with their simple delicious menu!! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK IF IN THE AREA!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped for dinner at An Octopus' Garden after a day at the Hopewell Rocks. We very much enjoyed our meals of freshly prepared pasta and the lobster sandwich. The atmosphere was very casual, the staff were friendly and the service was fast. We can definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in Alma on your way to or from local attractions like the Hopewell Rocks or Fundy National Park.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yyztravellercdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice healthy options.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Limited menu, but what I had was well prepared, fresh and used much less mayo/cheese/deep frying than most of the places in these small towns. Lots of veggies! The service was kind of lackadaisical, not very attentive. But a good value and a nice break from fish and chips.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank erm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Octopus' Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Alma, Albert County
Alma, Albert County
 

Been to An Octopus' Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing