We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place to eat and good prices too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Octopus' Garden Cafe

An Octopus' Garden Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our healthy menu is created around local produce. We offer an outside patio, kids play area, free internet, live music, beer, wine and liquor, local art, locally roasted fair trade coffee and espresso, and organic whole foods grown on our own farm. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. We are open from 7am-11pm
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little place to eat and good prices too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The town of Alma has a limited slection of restuarants, the Octopus garden is a great little spot for a very casual meal, not much atmosphere and not what you would call fine dining but the meal was very good. My husband had the carbonara, it was the first time he had it and it was good.
I am gluten free and I don't like gluten free pasta, which they have, so I had the ploughman's lunch (for dinner), it's a cold plate with fruit/cheese/veggies etc., and it was very good too. If I were in Alma again I would go back to the octopus garden; they were also the only place with gluten free bread and a gluten free pastry!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LFox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    75
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We took out from An Octopus' Garden to eat in the cottage. They ran out of take out boxes so wrapped up the china plates in foil and asked that we bring them back the next day. The pasta was freshly prepared and delcious. The arabiata was nice and spicy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was a lovely atmosphere with a live band playing. We had a soup to start which was excellent. One of us ordered a veggie pasta dish while the other ordered the lobster pasta. We can honestly say that we have never had better pasta in a restaurant. I just wish this restaurant was closer to home. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mooreton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica Plain, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had dinner at An Octopus' Garden for our first evening's stay in the area. The owners of the B&B where we were staying recommended it to us, and we're so glad they did! The pastas are outstanding, as are their pastries. The server & chef were both very friendly, and checked in with us regularly to see how we were enjoying our meal. There was also a local musician (singer/guitarist) performing that night, so we got to enjoy live music while we ate. We would definitely recommend this place for dinner if you are in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yepogeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Best value $ & quality in Alma. Dinner main courses were all pasta, but different sauces. Somewhat eclectic place worth visiting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Octopus' Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Alma, Albert County
Alma, Albert County
 

Been to An Octopus' Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing