We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”
Review of Alpine Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms are small but OK for a 1 night stay, provided your neighbors aren't too noisy (sound insulation seems poor). The view from the back of the hotel is great (but you have to be outside to see it) and the advertised pool looks like it as never been used for years. The 'beach access' involves traversing some dangerous-looking rocks. Cleaners knocked on our door at 9 AM and said we had checked out - but we hadn't; the they asked when we were checking out. Rude. Reception staff were not that informative or pleasant. They did not ask how our stay ws when we checked out - no wonder.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but I can recommend Tides a few doors down. We had delicious lobster, shrimp and clams from the restaurant's take out service - excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nice looking from the outside but once you open the door you just want to turn and leave, toilets ran all night, room smelled and didn't feel clean, water ban in effect so they gave you a bottle of water each Front desk wasn't helpful as we booked 2 rooms side by side and they were on different floors in different building when I asked about it she said someone else booked that room before us as I could see the registration the people booked it 2 months after us and got it? Checked out the pool it was green, filthy and padlocked. Great view but the bugs were terrible and no way to get away from them, neighboring motel had a great screened gazebo. For the price it wasn't worth maybe at $50 a night you could deal with it, but even then go to the one next door.

Room Tip: Go to the parkland next door. There is no restraunt at this hotel it is at the parkland and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

the room are simple, but have all you need for a short stay. View is really beautiful, sit on the chairs at the Inn and enjoy the view and tide.
The rooms are not soundproof and can keep you awake for the (half of) the night.
friendly staff at check-inn and fairly priced.
there is a swimming pool, but i would not recommend to go in it...............can't see the bottom of it, very dirty water.

Room Tip: choose the building with 1 floor as the other building is so noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irma_en_edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have been travelling to Alma every summer for the past 7-8 yrs.. We always booked the same room, the closest one to the water. We reserved it a month before as we were planning to go first week of July. When we arrived, they had given our room to another couple. They gave us a room usptairs in another building instead. What a disappointment as we were looking forward so much to this vacation. We drove 4 hrs and we were ready to go bck as soon as they told us we couldnt have the room but decided to stay as there were no other rooms available anywhere else. I told the manager that we will be staying the night but we will never be back again. They said it was a misunderstanding....I asked her why didnt she call us before we left to let us know. She knew how much we wanted that room as we have been reserving the same one for 7 yrs. We would have gone another week-end, thats how much it meant to us! As well for all those yrs, the pool never worked. False adverstisement! We will go bck to Alma but will stay to another motel for sure! Rooms not very clean as they are using young girls, I would say 14-15 yrs old to clean them....oh yes! one more thing....they have been having hot water problems for the last 4-5 yrs in the small building! No plumbers in Alma????

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobytobette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

In July, 2011 we were planning to camp at Fundy National Park. Unfortunately the wather was not cooperating and the forecast called for rain the entire week. Since we love hiking the park so much we decided to go ahead, but look for a motel to stay in so we could dry out and get a hot shower at night. Made a recervation at the Alpine Motor Inn and boorked a room for 4 with a kitchenette.

The accomodations at the Alpine are basic but comfortable; exactly what we needed. Everything was clean and maid service was good. No A/C in the rooms, but you would rarely need that when located right next to the water rin Alma. With the kitchenette, we were able to cook up breakfast and luch and ate supper out at one of the local seafood joints.

Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a kitchenette if you want to ave a few dollars on food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichA252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Travelled from Boston to Cape Breton and back. 2 weeks. Had one night in Alpine Motor Inn, Alma. Looked great from the out side, obviously just renovated, but horror struck as we opened the door. The carpet stank, there were flies buzzing around the room in October! Dead fly in the coffee maker. The knobs on the heater had been removed and it was quite chilly. The toilet smelled and the floor tiles were peeling. Couldn't open the door properly. Cheap nasty thin, small towels. Kept scratching in the bed so didn't sleep well. We left by 6am! Paid $90. If you stay here then ask to see the room first as it sounds like some have been refurbished.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRSSALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and our 2 kids who are 6 and 2 stayed here while passing through. I mistakenly thought hopewell rocks was a lot closer but it's about 45 min. We decided to stay anyway. When we got in it was low tide. The rooms were 115 a night for 2 doubles. The lady at the desk was very helpful and friendly I asked for mon smoking and on the first floor and she said I had a choice of 3 rooms. She then asked if I'd like a kitchenettes I said sure so we ended up in room 12. The bathrooms look brand new with a tub and shower. The rooms are very spacious and had a bar fridge, microwave, kitchen sink and full table with 4 chairs. We went for a walk on the beach it was cool to see the fishing boats sitting on the ocean floor. We ended up staying a few extra hours the next day to make sure we could show the kids high tide. We got stuck at this horrid restaurant octopus garden, see my review on that crap hole and didn't get back till 11:45. The lady cleaning the room next to us asked if we were staying another night when we said non she said check out was at 11 we said we were sorry we were stuck at the octopus place and she said oh well then no worry go in and eat your breakfast well clean your room later. Not many places around that would do that. We didn't get a chance to go in the pool, it's outdoors and simple but it was freezing and raining when we were there. It's the only place with a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanandJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
0 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
23.7 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
0.1 mi away
Captains Inn
Captains Inn
#2 of 5 in Alma
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motor Inn

Address: 8591 Route 114, Alma, New Brunswick E4H 1N5, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Alma
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alma
Price Range: $87 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motor Inn Alma, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing