We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd mix of nice and needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn- Winkler
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winkler
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has many good things. The room looked nice and the beds were comfortable. There is a nice looking pool and hot tub in a center indoor patio area. Some parents may appreciate that some of the rooms have doors and windows that look in toward the pool. The room has fridge, micro, iron, and a small table with two chairs. The area that need improvement are with the cleanliness, particularly the bathroom. There was some hair in the bathtub and small debris on the floor. I was also disappointed that no breakfast is offered, nor were there coupons offered for the attached restaurant (Country Kitchen). The room air conditioner was cumbersome to use because of a complicated remote control and no controls on the unit itself. And the room was kinda noisy..both from the neighbors as well as just the water running. Overall, I would probably stay here again but would check out the competition first.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoSyncro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan E, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry the room was not up to our usual standard of cleanliness. Our housekeeping manager has been informed about this training opportunity. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

nice clean hotel, excellent food, beautiful pool . definatley would recomend it . Although i never went in the pool it looks clean all around, also there is a sauna for after the pool. Rooms are clean and comfortable .

Room Tip: rooms to the south side are quiterer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan E, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass the compliments on to the housekeeping staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wrongfully evicted from the hotel at 1am by a desk attendant who refused to let me speak with a manager. When another guest got irate, she phoned the police and I was forced to pack up my room while being watched by the local police. It was my intent to stay here for a month so I had a significant amount of stuff to pack up and ended up forgetting a few items. Completely embarrassed to have been put through this ordeal in front of the police and many other guests and lounge patrons.

This is all added to a laundry list of issues I was willing to let go. There was a make-up stain on my pillow for 4 days straight, despite the fact that I had set it aside hoping the cleaning staff would notice. Yellow stains on a face cloth when I arrived. There was a burnt out light bulb that I requested to be replaced and hadn't happened for 3 days. And finally, the attendant who checked me in was unable to provide me with any information regarding a loyalty/rewards program.

I would not recommend staying here to anyone that expects anything more than sub par customer service. And will be sure to inform everyone in my company who travels as well, that they should stay at the much more accommodating hotel just across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan E, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We acknowledge the events of the evening, and apologize that they played out the way they did. Decisions had to be made in the best interest of all of our guests. WIth this in mind we were forced you have you removed.

We do appreciate you bringing to our attention the items in your room that were not to your satisfaction and will use that information in training housekeeping staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Quality Inn of Winkler, MB has a great location. It is within walking distance of several restaurants and a shopping centre.

The positives:
- Good sized room
- Large bathroom
- Fridge & microwave in the room
- Pool area looks very nice
- The restaurant was great
- The lounge was modern and fun

The negatives:
- The room was not very clean. You could see that some areas of the carpet had not been vacuumed. The toilet was not properly cleaned.
- The hottub water was dirty
- The steamroom did not work

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jets_fan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan E, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking time to respond. We also believe that we have a location and facility second to none.
The housekeeping items will be addressed and improvements will take place immediately.
We apologize you were unable to get the steam room to work.
We appreciate you staying at the Quality Inn in Winkler and hope you will do so in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our work Christmas Party was held at this hotel and WOW!!. The staff were exceptional, the Banquet Dinner tasted like a real homecooked meal. Breakfast in the morning was great as well. Our room was newly remodelled and CLEAN. Beds are sooo comfortable. The price was great for the room we got. Nice to see the staff care about the hotel. These guys know what customer service is all about. We will stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: for a small price, you can upgrade to suite overlooking the pool. VERY nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chikita1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnWinkler, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all areas of the hotel. We look forward to your next stay during the holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxed evening, quiet night and lazy morning at this hotel.
Our spacious pool-side room, equipped with microwave and fridge, was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was roomy, not as small as many.
Many places have a pool and hot-tub, but the ones at this Quality Inn were clean, something one cannot say about many places. The steam bath was an unusual addition to the pool and hot-tub, and all equipment functioned on demand. A clean, well-designed space surrounds these amenities.
We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.
There is no continental breakfast at this hotel but a Country Kitchen restaurant is part of this building and we enjoyed a leisurely, tasty Sunday brunch. Both the service and price were very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnWinkler, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We are extremely pleased that your stay with us exceeded your wants and needs list. Our aim is that you our guest can book with confidence knowing that our standards are your standards. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night and had a relatively pleasant time during my brief stay. The property is located right off one of the main thoughfares in Winkler with a Tim Hortons, DQ, and a German restaurant located across the street. It was a little difficult to find, because the hotel is also branded as the Heartland Inn or something to affect. I ate at the hotel bar, the service was average despite being completely empty at my arrival. The rooms were large, well furnished, and comfortable with zero complaints about noise or quality of sleep. The hotel does have a nice atrium with smallish spa, large sauna, and average size indoor pool. I did pay $90 CAD, which personally seems a little high, but would likely stay there again at a lower price if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DakotaFlyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnWinkler, Manager at Quality Inn- Winkler, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are pleased to have joined the Choice family of hotels. The Choice priviledges reward program would be one of the new advantages we are able to offer. You will be able to enjoy free nights with the points gained from each of your stays. We are confident that this will add up to increased value for you. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkler
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Winkler
9.2 mi away
Super 8 Morden
Super 8 Morden
#1 of 3 in Morden
184 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bellas Castle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn- Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn- Winkler

Address: 851 Main St, Winkler, Manitoba R6W 0M7, Canada (Formerly Heartland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winkler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winkler
Price Range: $88 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn- Winkler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as Heartland Inn, we know what matters most to travellers. That's why, we've converted to Quality Inn Winkler. Whether it's a comfortable bed, a hot breakfast at Country Kitchen restaurant, or FREE Wi-Fi at poolside, you'll get everything you expect to make your trip relaxing and enjoyable. Our completely remodeled Premium rooms are designer-inspired to provide you with a feeling of warmth and comfort, supplying you with all the amenities you will need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn- Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn- Winkler Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing