We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stop here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foxtail Cafe

Foxtail Cafe
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Onanole
Cuisines: Canadian, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You must stop here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Foxtail is a new restaurant that must be tried if you are visiting Riding Mountain National Park or the surrounding area. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Paninis ,at lunch,are filling and delicious. The specialty at night is the wood fired pizzas. The crusts are crisp and the toppings are unique and delicious. The wood fired oven is a piece of art (made by a local mason). The serving staff is friendly and attentive.
There are two sides in this cafe - indoor and "outdoor" in a large screened-in porch. The decor is casual and very comfortable. There is a bar with high stools that is a feature in the porch.
Special touches-ham used in all the ham dishes is cut from the bone, local farms supply produce and meat, decorated with setting in mind, very unique wood wall and finally, next door is a lovely gift shop to browse around in.

I was lucky enough to go for a few meals and was never disappointed. I'll be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaterbabyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is fairly new, and locally owned. We went one evening, four adults and two 11 year olds. Fabulous service and food. I had the chicken pesto pizza, others enjoyed their food. The 11 year-old kids love their pizzas. The service was quick and friendly. Best pizza I have ever tasted...wood fired..you can watch them make the pizza and put it in the big, hot, oven. The kids thought it was very entertaining! Looking forward to going again next year. Did i tell you that the pizzas are all $12.00!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask., Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wish we could have gone again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A friend and I had our 2 teen boys with us. They loved it. Very cool place. Pizza was pretty good. Oven roasted! They messed up our order but gave us a free pizza and apologized a few times. Salads are amazing. Service excellent. If you are in a rush this wouldn't be the place to go. We went just before 5:30 and we were seated pretty quickly. Casual fun feel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMichelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Casual country "farm-to-table"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friends and I had dinner here and it was wonderful. Mixed drinks were tasty, and they carry local beers. We started with salads and then shared pizzas from the wood burning oven. The crusts were thin and crisp and the choices of pizzas creative and delicious. You can choose your own topping combinations if you like. And the menu is not limited to pizza!
We shared desserts too. Who knew there was such a thing as a devastatingly good quinoa chocolate cake?
The Foxtail is near Wasagaming, a seasonal community in the Riding Mountain National Park, but the cafe will be open year round, as well as for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxtail Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Foxtail Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing