We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeview rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimli
Manitoba
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lakeview rooms”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The hotel is starting to show it's age to a degree. The standard room when I have stayed their are fine a bit difficult to adjust Temp of the room but all and all not to bad. The beds are fairly comfy but the bathroom is dated and the tub squeeked and what not when moving around. A cheap tub and shower unit by any standard. The Suite I stayed in on my next stay was in the older wing and lacked a dishwasher and two bathrooms as in some of the other rooms but it did face the water. The bathroom was the same as the other room i stayed in old and starting to show it's age. The tub squeeked and moved as you moved around and stood while showering. Overall the bathrooms are in need of upgrading for the price they charge during normal summer rates. The pool area is showing its age tiles siloconed on, no grout etc. The Hot tub is anything but hot, a bathtub is hotter. The pool was quite warm like a warm bath which i rather enjoyed some prefer colder water. The sauna was sort of hot certainly not steam you out in 5 minutes like they normally do to me. All in all the winter rates make the price paid fair to middlin however the summer rates and the room cost place this resort in paying to much for your money category in my mind. I have stayed in a 5 star hotel in Vancouver on buisness for less money then what this hotel cost. I will say that the lounge in the hotel was nice and the bar food was avg.

Room Tip: Get a suite in the new wing or a suite in the older wing they face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeausejourManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    160
    120
    36
    18
See reviews for
199
168
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My family and I stayed here for a weekend in August. We were quite disappointed with the one-bedroom suite in the older part of the hotel (dingy and dark) and moved to a two-bedroom suite in the newer wing. That was almost worth the money. The rooms were clean and had the necessary amenities (dishwasher, 2 bathrooms ) but the rugs were worn and need to be replaced.
The staff were quite busy, but pleasant and helpful and the food tasty in the restaurant.
This busy hotel needs some serious TLC to win us back again.

Room Tip: ask for a suite with the back view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghengus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweet home
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is the only resort in the area that has a view of the harbor. Service was great. Room was clean and comfortable. Being an older resort there is little sound proofing:(

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrainTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coquitlam, bc
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at the Lakeview for three nights in early August. The location is certainly one of the best in this picturesque town but it is in need of more than a little TLC. I gather, from some of the other reviewers, that the suites are well appointed. Given that they are trying to sell resort time here, that comes as no surprise. The single unit I stayed in, however, needed some major decorating. It was clean enough but obviously had been neglected for a while.

The same can be said of most of the common areas. The lobby had a collection of old mismatched furniture that looked like it came from a private house. The carpets should be replaced and the hallways need a good paint job. I appreciated access to both the indoor and outdoor pools but these too need some refurbishing.

The front desk staff was charming and attentive and the waitress at the adjoining restaurant was great - considering I had two grandchildren with me for breakfast.

Putting some money into upgrading this hotel will go a long way to encouraging repeat business. Location is just not enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitterCoquitlam_Bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We took advantage of the Lakeview's excellent wintertime "Sweet deal" package which includes a room and two meals at an extremely competitive price. Because the prices were so good, we decided to upgrade to a vacation suite in the new wing of the hotel. The room was spacious, attractive and well-appointed, so it was definitely worth it.

The hotel restaurant was a treat, and can be best described as "country upscale". Certainly not a suit-and-tie kind of place, but classy just the same with good food and great service.

The hotel offers some nice amenities like free DVD rentals with a good selection of recent movies. There is also a pool, sauna and hot tub, but since it was a long weekend the area was filled with kids so we didn't spend a lot of time in there. Families were also using the games room equipped with a pool table and a basic selection of video games and pinball machines.

As I said, the room itself was excellent and the suite had a very handy kitchenette. The bathroom was very well designed and impeccably clean. The room had a nice big balcony off the living room although it was much too cold to use it.

While Gimli is a hub of activity in the summer, be warned that it gets much quieter in the winter. There are museums, shops and restaurants nearby, but it probably won't hold your attention for more than one day. But with rooms as nice as these, you might not want to go outside in the first place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrolman_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Lakeview Inn & Suites in Gimli, Manitoba for our anniversary. We took advantage of a great special Lakeview has in its off season which includes dinner for two/breakfast and a deal on a room. We stayed in one of their spacious suites with a view of the lake. The room look dated, carpet showing wear but was clean. The staff were attentive with the food being of good quality.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRegehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wininpeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The hotel was dirty. Filthy carpets, mildew on the shower curtain, small counter space. Pools were hot. Beach was rocky. Left a very valuable item behind and they are making it very difficult to get back. I will tell everyone I know to never go to this hotel. I will call newspapers if I have to, until I get my item back and if I have to drive all the way out there to get it now, I expect them to pay for the costs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre

Property: Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
Address: 10 Centre Street, Gimli, Manitoba R0C 1B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Gimli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gimli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the sandy shores of Lake Winnipeg the Lakeview Resort in Gimli offers the perfect place to get away. Our full service resort offers everything you need to make your next business meeting, retreat, wedding, honeymoon, or family vacation one to remember!Conference space for 20 to 250 people. Guestrooms, suites, deluxe suites and luxury vacation suites available. Indoor and outdoor pool and just steps away from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Gimli
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre Gimli, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing