We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thing that could happen to this Hotel would be to demolish it”
Review of Falcon Lake Hotel

Falcon Lake Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Lake Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Falcon Lake
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best thing that could happen to this Hotel would be to demolish it”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have been a patron of this hotel on many levels for many years. I have stayed at the hotel throughout the years and now, as a member of the community, I visit the hotel for the community wi-fi, the beer vendor, and the hotel bar inside for drinks occasionally when meeting friends. Throughout the years, I have seen this hotel (beautiful at one time) slowly die a painful death. EVERYTHING in this hotel needs replacing, especially the new owners who seem to have one thing in mind - to kill the reputation and life of this hotel in a town that deserves better. When you drive into the parking lot of the hotel, the first thing you notice is the faided paint peeling off of the walls. When you walk into the hotel, the first thing you notice is the worn out rug and the sign on the door of the restaurant that says closed. The new owners chased away an incredible Chinese food restaurant that was in residence at the hotel. Now they can't get anyone else to come in. The hotel rooms have NOT been renovated even though they claim that they have. The bar is not open until 5:00 pm daily (that means weekends as well). Snowmobilers have nowhere to go when they visit Falcon now. The beer vendor hardly has any stock and is not open until the bar is open. Don't go near this place on a long weekend because they run out of beer (every time). Unfortunately, the best thing that could happen to this hotel would be to demolish it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - go to the stables or rent a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chateaumau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    9
    10
    33
See reviews for
24
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Unfortunately there is only one hotel in Falcon Lake.
.....DON'T STAY HERE.

Big billboards on the highway show a beautiful hotel with a restaurant and pool with a water slide. Don't be fooled. No restaurant! No water slide! No hot tub!

The pool closes at 7 p.m.. Who closes a pool at 7 o'clock....? Once you're done with the beach and lake for the day, people (kids especially) want to go swimming. There's nothing else in the hotel for kids. When I asked why the pool closes so early I was told: "It's the law!" (whatever)

The guy at the front desk told me that I didn't have to stay there if I didn't like it. (the problem is - he's right.) Unless you have a tent or camper of some kind, you're stuck.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Too bad that's the only thing perfect with this "resort"

In all fairness, the room itself was tolerable - at best

+ Room was spacious enough.
+ Sheets and bedding were clean.
+ Air conditioner worked fine.
+ Did have a decent fridge.
+ Shower had great pressure and hot water was hot.

- Feathers in the feather bed covers kept poking us.
- No remote for the dvd player (couldn't access special features or deleted scenes etc.)
- No microwave in room.
- No current phone books.
- Windows are not sound proofs. (Once the hotel's bar let out, it was so noisy. We could hear everyone's conversation as if they were in our room).

The lobby had a strong offensive odour.

Clean the carpets. Clean the air. Paint.
Replace the windows.
Clean the pool area. Put in a hot tub.
Open the restaurant. Get the waterslide open.
Keep the pool open until 10 p.m. (it's summer!!!)
Clean up the attitude of the front desk staff.
That's not how you treat tourists.

What a shame for being the only hotel in Falcon.

How embarrassing for Manitoba.

Room Tip: Wish I had read the reviews before we went.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank aretee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Falcon Lake hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed there for a family reunion we were attending. The description and photos on the web sight looked ok, so we booked a couple of nights. Was bad from the moment we walked in the door. The man "running" the front desk and was of little help. When as where the pool was located was told to "go down the hall and find it". Our room stunk of industrial cleaner.
The following day we went to use the pool area that reported to have a waterslide. Well the waterslide didn't work, there once was a hot tub but it had long ago been covered over and no longer existed. We went to use the shower/change rooms at the pool area to wash off the pool water(more on that in a bit) but the showers in both mens and womens change rooms were backed up and not draining. It was bad. Back to the water. It has been several weeks and the rash my daughter got from their pool is finally almost gone.
This place is a dive. I only assume it is getting by due to the fact it is one of the only places in town.
We left a day early.
Dont go.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ted N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

so have come to this hotel for about 4 years. When i checked in the front desk staff were not as frendley. When i checked in to my room there was clothing left behind in the droors from someone befor us. I do not think that they washed any of the blankets between visitors. We mainley stay cuz of the pool, waterslide and suna. well the water slide was not working or the suna so it made for some un happy kids as well as they have changed the pool hours and is only open till 7pm none of which have been put on there website. there is lots more. this place is in need of a major overhall

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Catherine1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

They had us pay up front, and we should have checked things out first. Restaurant closed permanently, no food available in bar, pool filthy, cloudy, bugs and food. Much of the patio furniture was askew or broken. Decking up to water slide wouldn't hold a heavy person. Exercise equipment old & rusted. Carpeting old and dirty around pool and everywhere in hotel. Parking lots littered with butts and potholes.A pipe burst and our room flooded so we were given a "couples" room with a whirlpool tub, but the stopper didn't fit. Owner's children running in halls. Sheets were clean, and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gswrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Dirty, dirty, dirty, Had rotten meat on the patio table. Got a different room 2 doors
down but the stinking meat stayed there till next afternoon. Dirty BBQ, dirty dishes,
my wife went to complain and the doorknob to our room came off in her hand. Beer bottles and garbage against building all weekend - in fact someone mowed around it you could see. Guy next door opened his patio door and the screen door
fell off. Hallways probably not vacuumed for weeks. Pool is rundown and unsafe
waterslide structure as well as no hot tub. Bugs in indoor pool. When we got there on Fri night we had to go to the bar to check in - the staff there didn't seem to know anything about it. This is the poorest maintained and run hotel we have ever stayed at and hope you don't have to

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mpt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had went on line and made a reservation. When we arrived, from the parking lot, there was a broken case of beer, unknown piece of clothing and cigarette butts littering the outside of motel. Entering the lobby the rugs in entrance where filthy. We had traveled 7 hrs, so thought we would look at room. Gave us key, and room was even worst, bed looked like someone had slept in, and thrown back covers, toilet was filthy. We couldn't get out fast enough. Owner told my husband he had housekeeping, and my husband told him to teach them their job.. Place is so run down, and web site is obviously very deceiving. Stay away!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Northener17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falcon Lake
9.9 mi away
Keystone Resort
Keystone Resort
#1 of 1 in West Hawk Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tallpine Lodges
Tallpine Lodges
#1 of 2 in West Hawk Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Beach Ranch
Falcon Beach Ranch
#1 of 2 in Falcon Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Lake Hotel

Property: Falcon Lake Hotel
Address: Falcon Blvd., Falcon Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba R0E 0N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Whiteshell Provincial Park > Falcon Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Falcon Lake
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Falcon Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Lake Hotel Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing