We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could wish for in a Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marifield Manor B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marifield Manor B&B
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could wish for in a Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

My travel partners and I really enjoyed our stay with Shelagh. The home is beautiful and comfortable, the location is very tranquil and scenic and Shelagh is a wonderful host who gave us lots of great local advice. Upon arrival we enjoyed tea and a freshly baked cake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Shelagh was a gracious, organized host in her beautiful, antique manor. She offered an inviting atmosphere, a posh breakfast, sightseeing recommendations, detailed tour of her house and heirlooms (upon request), pristine and comfortable accommodations. This affordable Bed and Breakfast would suit any travelers, whether couples, families or friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

As a shawnigan lake school parent I will be back to stay with shelagh. A comfortable and warm stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Host Shelagh John offers the traveler a luxurious retreat into the past. A restored Edwardian mansion full of beautiful antiques and comfortable, quiet rooms, all a short walk from Shawnigan Lake, were a treat. Shelagh prepared delicious breakfasts, showed us her extensive garden, and took us on a walk through the neighborhood near the lake. Another walk took us to the extensive grounds and gardens of a boarding school. Shelagh told us all about the fascinating history of this town in the South Cowichan River Valley near Victoria..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Marifield Manor last weekend and were much impressed with the host Shelagh John, the food, the house, and the garden. When we arrived, Shelagh gave us a warm welcome with fresh brewed tea on the huge wrap-around porch that included homemade coffee cake. I was exhausted from the drive and not much sleep from the night before. Shelagh's friendliness, hot tea, and cake revived me. She was full of good information about places for us to visit, and her slight Irish accent was charming. She single handedly maintains the vast garden with incredible varieties of plants and flowers, and a huge B&B with an awesome array of antiques, the likes of which you see on "Antiques Roadshow." If you like antiques, you'll like Marifield. The rates were reasonable, $125 a night for a suite for 2 people, and we were the only people there so we had the whole house to ourselves. For breakfast, Shelagh served us homemade granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit,, wholewheat toast, eggs cooked to order & bacon, and fresh coffee. She even wore a chef's smock. The room I stayed in had big windows the bathtub was claw footed and I almost swam in it. Everything was sparkling clean & exquisitely decorated. She even loaned us towels to take to the lake, and gave us directions to all kiinds of places, and let us interrupt her several times from her private lodgings to answer questions. Moreover, she never asked for money. I had to remind my friend to pay since it was her turn, and I thought she might forget to pay and Shelagh might not ask us for $$!

Room Tip: Ask Shelagh what she recommends, she'll answer you honestly, and try to accommodate you to meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

I found Marifield Manor easy to find and even easier to linger in. The Manor has "hidden" modern comforts. Claw foot bathtubs, but quiet plumbing. Stunning gardens and views thru modern windows in old casings. Layers of charm, gracious hostess and well worth the price. We were attending a family function and it was great to leave the crowd and activities for a calm spot to recharge and refresh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or bathroom that has a big mirror!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoystonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I had an impromptu stay at Marifield Manor- what a beautiful House, immaculately kept and a breakfast like no other. Shelagh , the owner, is a chef herself and obviously takes pride in what she creates but the nice thing was she gave us many options to choose from. She is an avid gardener so there are wonderful grounds to explore. We spent our days at the lake , bikeriding to Kensol trestle and touring vineyards. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated with private ensuites. I would highly recommend this B&B, it is a treasure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OOutfitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnigan Lake
11.2 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Shawnigan Suite
Shawnigan Suite
#2 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ruthie's Roost B&B
Ruthie's Roost B&B
#1 of 3 in Mill Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shawnigan Vacations
Shawnigan Vacations
#8 of 9 in Shawnigan Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
9.6 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marifield Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marifield Manor B&B

Property: Marifield Manor B&B
Address: 2039 Merrifield Lane, Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia V0R 2W1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Shawnigan Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Shawnigan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Edwardian Manor house with beautiful period antiques- located in the heart of Shawnigan Lake, B.C. Choose from queen or king size beds, all with en-suites or private bathrooms with large clawfoot soaker tubs. Situated close to Shawnigan Lake Private School for visiting families. Gourmet breakfast can include housemade granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, baked goods or farm fresh eggs and local double smoked bacon. A first class establishment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marifield Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marifield Manor B&B Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing