We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Terrible Service & very, very slow”

Rocking Horse Pub Ltd
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Terrible Service & very, very slow”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my 3rd time at the Rocking Horse, haven't been for a couple of years now so guess I forgot how slow the service is. Waited about 15 min before we even got a menu & it wasn't busy hardly anyone in our side of the restaurant. Another 10 min before we received our drinks, two of us had hot chocolate which when it arrived turned out to be nothing more than hot water with foam on it, sent it back and was told that the machine must not be working. The drinks to replace these did not come until long after the food arrived which took about 45 minutes, arrived with no cutlery either. The waitress obviously had no knowledge of the food as I asked if the Steak & Guinness pie had mushrooms which I hate and she said no, was half way through the pie when I realized there were alot of mushrooms in it. The table beside us who arrived a few minutes before we did had already received & eaten their meals before ours even arrived. The food otherwise was very good but not worth the wait, if we would have received our drinks in the beginning it might have been but not to sit there for 15 minutes and not even be acknowledged or receive a menu. When we asked for the bill we were told that the printer wasn't working so then that took about 10 minutes before we got the bill. After reading other reviews I am glad I didn`t pay with a card as it looks like people are getting double charged on occasions. Won`t go back................

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luckysue28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    57
    25
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“True Community Pub”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good drinks, good atmosphere, good food, excellent service. It is a nice pub, huge menu, something for everyone, great daily specials.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy_Been_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rocking Horse Pub......out in the country.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Rocking Horse pub as a very mixed history of being really good and really bad! However when visiting last week I was pleasantly surprised at the service, friendliness and the lunch. the garden was looking lovely and a great place to sit on a sunny day for an outdoor lunch. It certainly has a character of it's own with it's English prints on the wall, and in the winter large roaring fires. One end is for dining, and a large sports bar with a stage for events at the other. You have to take your chance here, but sometimes it's really good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsay”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Owners of the Rocking Horse were sadened by Chef Gordon Ramsay of "Restaurant Nightmare" comments that he will not be coming to the rocking horse this fall. His director stated that "gordon's not a miracle worker, that place is beyond repair"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank GordonRParksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something fishy going on”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food is mediocre at best , service not great , and I would never use a debit or credit card there, we ended up paying twice and now are fighting to get reimbursed. Our friends were overcharged as well. there are lots of WAY better places to eat and enjoy island scenery WITHOUT getting ripped off.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocking Horse Pub Ltd also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Rocking Horse Pub Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing