We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but certainly not 'luxury'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but certainly not 'luxury'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

We just returned from a several day stay at this resort.
While the grounds were lovely, it certainly did not measure up to the "luxury" description.
The outdoor pool was not heated and was FREEZING yet no sign was posted so you did not know that until you actually tried to get into it. Apparently, there was a part on backorder to fix it but another guest I spoke to said it was broken the last time he stayed there.
The indoor pool was second-rate, smelly, and no amenities (ie. lounge chairs, pool toys for kids, etc.)
The restaurant had good food and service, and some of the front desk staff were great, while some were more interested in chatting with their co-workers than talking to guests.
The rooms, while clean, were very dated and in desperate need of upgrading (we were told that it had been 9 years since ours had been done and it was slated to be redone "soon").
All in all, it was a pleasant stay but don't go in expecting luxury as you will be disappointed.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    160
    98
    70
    53
See reviews for
172
232
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

This was our second time staying at the Pacific Shores Resort and we absolutely love this property. The resort is very well maintained as was our room. We rented the 1 bedroom suite with kitchen and did most of our cooking ourselves. One thing to note is that food on Vancouver Island (as well as most other items) is pretty expensive, especially if you will be dining out! This property is for those people who are seeking a quiet, peaceful slice of ocean front property. If you enjoy parties or nightlife I would not recommend staying here, stick to Victoria.

The best way to get there is by driving to Tsawassen outside of Vancouver and take the ferry to Duke Point which is just south of Nanaimo. While visiting I would highly recommend going to Coombs for some fun nick-knack shopping and also visiting the Cathedral Forest.

  • Liked — secluded and peaceful
  • Disliked — Restaurant prices
  • Tips/Secrets — Cook your own food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eagoertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

My friend and I stayed at Pacific Shores recently and loved it. The service was first rate, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was very busy but they still managed to fit us in. We had the filet mignon and the cedar salmon - superb. We shared cheesecake for dessert and it was one of the best I've ever tasted. The grounds are spectacular and the view is worth a thousand words. They had kayaks to use, a bocce ball court, board games and movies too. It was more than we ever expected, and as for the spa - chocolate decadence all the way! We'll definitely be back.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2006

I decided to book this hotel and bring a friend along as I was on a business trip. The room was clean but older, no AC, no shampoos or soap, remote was not working properly for the TV. Front desk staff were friendly and their pool was incredible. The walk along the beach is a must the only reason I would never go back was the terrible service in their restaurant. The server had clearly expected us to have decided on our choice before we even looked at the menus. When we asked questions about the meal and beverages she glared at us. When the meals were brought to us they were abruptly dropped in front of us. We would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant. We then emailed the company about what happened and never received a response.

  • Liked — Beach and pool
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not eat there
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Heritage1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanoose Bay hotels

Vermont
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

“Hotel room” units are extremely small and configured with drawers and refrigerator at foot of bed, so that if one person is using either, the other must crawl over the bed to get by. The balcony of these units is recessed from neighboring units on either side by several feet, blocking both sun from breeze from reaching the balcony and the room. This is the only means of attempting to ventilate the room, as there is no A/C at the resort. Hotel units have no laundry facilities, and an apartment-sized fridge incapable of freezing ice. There are no ice machines available for guests.

“Beach on-site” is inaccurate – the seaside is much too mucky and covered with shells and barnacles to allow for typical beach activities such as swimming, sunbathing, Frisbee, etc. If one wanted to go in the water, the tide was out too far during our stay, making the shore inaccessible from 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. There is no outdoor swimming pool.

Scheduled resort activities are limited to: watching staff feed the fish in the restaurant aquarium, volunteering to work in the gardens, and a Monday morning continental breakfast and orientation speech. There seemed to be an agreement with a local recreation program, as each afternoon the hot tubs and beach area were invaded for a couple of hours by a dozen or so children, accompanied by a few women.

This resort seems to please Island residents who own larger units; a trip of any length, especially to a hotel unit, is definitely not worth the trip.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff; gas grills for guests.
  • Disliked — Rediculously small room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't accept a hotel unit; seek out the Crow & Gate south of Nanaimo - authentic English pub.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vtteach60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

We live in Victoria and spent Canada Day weekend there after referral by friends who bought a timeshare there. A former RV park that's been tastefully redeveloped with perimeter trees kept intact, nice gardens and units that almost all face the sea or the creek delta.
As prospective timesharers (pay $25 a night in return for sitting a 2.5hr presentation), we were assured a generally positive experience: clean, well-appointed suite with fully-equipped kitchen (incl. cooking utensils and crockery), balcony overlooking creek with view of the sea, well-kept grounds, hot tubs (one internal, one external), pool (usually not crowded), restaurant with surprisingly good food (15% off for RCI members) and spectucular fish tank, well-equipped gym. Free use of the kayaks (booking required) are a great plus; lack of AC in the suite a minus (clearly designed without global warming in mind). The beach is rocky – great for crab hunting and exploring – but the water makes for a very refreshing swim on a sufficiently warm day (which, with global warming, there'll be more of).
All in all very tempting, but recommended as a timeshare only IF you can be sure of getting a (good) unit during high season (our friends, for example, couldn't get a unit while we were there, though they rang two months ahead). Very few kids , though, so more suited for couples before or after children.

  • Liked — The setting and the free use of kayaks
  • Disliked — No AC in rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Come during the summer.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hither-and-Yon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

arrived at pacific shores after a great stay in Vancouver and Victoria. Had rreserved for 5 nights using RCI points. We were given a tiny room at the back of the resort. The room was damp and musty with insects all around. The bed was small and everything smelled funny! WE asked for another room but were told that nothing else was available. There was no way we could stay here for 5 nights so we went out and about and found alternative accommodation. RCI did refund our points and our money but the experience was not good. Other parts of the resort looked okay but this is the first Gold crown resort that we have not liked and we have been using RCI for 12 years now. Our opinion is that this is certainly not Gold crown status and our room looked nothing like the rooms shown on the Pacific shores website so take care when deciding to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Jancie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanoose Bay
1.6 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Resort and Spa

Property: Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
Address: 1-1600 Stroulger Rd, Nanoose Bay, British Columbia V9P 9B7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanoose Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Shores Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel Nanoose Bay
Pacific Shores Resort And Spa Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing