We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of happiness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have not finished my vacation here as of yet however I have no complaints other than the fog which has been here since arriving. I did have a chance to go Kayaking the other evening in the bay when the fog lifted briefly, enjoy the use of all hot pools(indoors and out ) The exercise room has much more equipment than most places I have been to. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous and if you take the trails around the property you can find some of the most beautiful ocean trails. I have been more than happy so far. I will make one note of downfall which is the service in the restaurant, slow at best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishydakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 562 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We read the mixed reviews on this site so were not sure what to expect, but Pacific Shores did not disappoint! (Note: we are not timeshare owners, so did not deal with the mngt company that some people seem to complain about). We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was very large with a lovely view. Although we only stayed one night, you could easily stay for several in the suite. The kitchen was very well stocked (spices, tea, coffee, lots of dishes for cooking, etc) - perhaps one of the best stocked that we have experienced in our travels. The large walk-through bathroom with soaker tub was great - but the hot tub out on the ocean trail is even better! (Where you can also BBQ nearby). While we really did enjoy our stay, a few things to be aware of: a) the wood frame building does mean that you hear footsteps of people in the suites above, b) some furniture was scratched up a bit - so not entirely "new" feeling, c) since you are not supposed to smoke inside, people seem to hover outside the suites to smoke. As non-smokers, this was not the most pleasant experience when we left our room for a walk. Also, the restaurant was not open for breakfast. Fortunately, we had enough food for the morning, but plan accordingly!
All in all though, a lovely place to relax, extremely friendly service, and a very fair price!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_She_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had never been to Pacific Shores before and didn't know what to expect. We were not disappointed at all and loved every minute of our time there. Our Junior Suite was lovely, right on the ground floor with a little stream in front of our suite we could enjoy. It was lovely and quiet and we enjoyed several walks on the beach. The fall colours were absolutely gorgeous. The Restaurant meals were wonderful as the chefs were well versed in experimenting with different types of food and presentation styles.
In fact we enjoyed ourselves so much we are returning for 4 days during Xmas.

Room Tip: Bring your own bathroom soap dish, for some strange reason the bathrooms do not have a dish for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEASPREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had unfortunately booked at a place that did not deliver what they advertised and when we talked to them about it they told us to leave, lucky for us, because we then discovered Pacific Shores Resort and Spa and a wonderful hostess Vera Lynne who was at the front desk, set us up in a beautiful one bedroom suite complete with two fireplaces, a huge romantic tub a beautiful kitchen, 3 outside deck areas and a beautiful view of the sunset. The grounds are beautiful with nice walking paths and 3 hot tubs and indoor pool. Vera Lynne also knew the area and did an outstanding job of recommending places for us to go. The restaurant their was also lovely, we only had an appetizer there, of salmon and crab cakes, which were delicious, but most of the time we just had meals in our lovely apartment. Could not have asked for a nicer place, or a better hostess!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one bedrooms which were beautiful, the junior suites are also lovely but the one be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with some friends this past weekend, we each had our own room, and it was absolutely delightful. Front desk staff was great, amenities were plentiful, and the price was excellent. We will return for a longer stay next time! Thanks to all the staff who made it a great stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Milkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

For us this was a great resort. We had a 1 bed apartment in the central block (#717A) and whilst it didn't have a view of the Ocean like those in the apartments numbered 300+ & 400+ it was surrounded by the most spectacular yellow and orange trees which made the mornings worth getting up for. The apartment had a dishwasher, washer/dryer and more than enough kitchen utensils, crockery and towels to see us through the week. On site there's a very well run Spa offering a wide range of treatments and a very good restaurant with a pair of huge interconnected glass tanks housing several examples of the local marine life. The grounds are simply lovely leading down to Craig Bay which is picture perfect and home to Duck, Canada geese, Herons and the occasional Seal/Sea Lion. Often you can also see the resident deer which are very tame.
One of the resort's best assets is its staff. Everyone both on and off site were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The on site resort staff were happy to print off our return flight tickets from their computers and let us use their phones to make local calls as the on going management dispute means the phones in the apartments can only receive calls not make them.
That said all the apartments have free Wi-Fi so using Skype is a practical and economical solution.
The location of the resort is great if you want to tour Vancouver Island. Within 45 min drive you can reach 5 National Parks and 2 reasonable size ports with good ferry connections to both Vancouver and other nearby islands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We decided to spend a week on Vancouver Island after two weeks in Alaska. This was the hi point of the trip. The resort is in a rebuilding phase with the on site gym and telephone service not open. Off site office area offered use of phone there at anytime. They also have an agreement with a local gym for use. I really think that this is a short range problem which will soon be fixed. The staff was friendly and went out of there way to assure everything was right. The location is amazing. Within two hours of Victoria waterfront but why go that far. There are 5 provincial parks within a half hour offering everything from rainforest to beaches. There are also a dozen small but exqusite attractions. Easy to get to and in the center of a ton of great restaurants and little shops. The locals were great. Going out of there way to make you feel at home. We not only are planning out next trip back but are even wishing we could figure out a way to move there. Onsite are several grill areas with first class bbq's, one overlooking the bay. Truly amazing. I have been retired 7 years and spend 20 weeks a year traveling and this is the best place we have been.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanoose Bay
4.0 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
250 reviews
16.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,494 reviews
68.9 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Resort and Spa

Address: 1-1600 Stroulger Rd, Nanoose Bay, British Columbia V9P 9B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanoose Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Price Range: $77 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Shores Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel Nanoose Bay
Pacific Shores Resort And Spa Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing