We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without Pier”
Review of Bridgemans Bistro

Bridgemans Bistro
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Mill Bay
Price range: $12 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mill Bay Road
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Without Pier”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beautifully prepared and presented food. Exceptional care provided for my elderly mother. Highly recommended for a leisurely lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakelover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    102
    46
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chemainus, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely views and great location”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I met some friends for lunch at Bridgemans, and I was pleased with our chosen venue. The location is wonderful, with a water view over the Mill Bay marina and across the northern part of Saanich Inlet. We were seated in a quasi-outdoor area -- it was glassed-in, but with open areas to let the breeze in, and movable sun-shades in the roof. So it was very comfortable.

I chose the salmon burger with onion rings. The onion rings were just the way I like them, and the salmon was wild sockeye, cooked just right (ie. not at all overcooked). So the food was very satisfactory. The price is not the lowest you'll find, but, considering the good food and great atmosphere, it is competitively priced. I'll go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Well, I love this place for the view, great staff, great wine list. It has only been open maybe less than a year, not sure of time frame but the food has been lacking. We went last saturday night and my husbands teriyaki steak bowl was dry and the steak at fat on it. Apparently the steak is suppose to beef sirloin but very fatty. I had the burger, not bad. My friend had the ravioli and there was maybe 8 ravioli and its was $16! Need to improve if you want us locals to support you thru the bad winter months.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mothers Day”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We met with family for mothers day brunch, we had a lovely meal, the service was great,(even though it was very busy) we have been there once before for lunch on the way back from Victoria. The Bistro has spectacular views. We would recommend this Bistro.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgmans b, Networking associate at Bridgemans Bistro, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We're happy we could be a par of your Mother's Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant for two or friends”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Here with friends for lunch. Good atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff. The food was excellent and the salmon in my burger was generous and perfectly cooked. Only comment is the menu says the burgers are all served with fries, salad etc which is true, but you pay extra for them, not included with the burger. I will go back soon. Try and get a window table. The place is always busy, which is another good indication of it's quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckerVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgmans b, Networking associate at Bridgemans Bistro, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thanks for the nice review! Glad to hear you enjoyed you visit to Bridgemans. Just to clarify, it does state on our menu that sandwich items are served with fries, but there is a charge to upgrade to our artisan green salad with strawberries and blue cheese, yam fries, Caesar salad, and beer battered onion rings. See you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgemans Bistro also viewed

Cobble Hill, Vancouver Island
 
Mill Bay, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Cobble Hill, Vancouver Island
Mill Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Bridgemans Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing