We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deer Lodge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mill Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mill Bay
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I, who stayed here between July 9 - 12, 2012 and our two grown sons each had rooms at this lovely motel while we attended a wedding. It was clean, comfortable and very affordable. Best of all, the caretakers were extremely friendly and welcoming, as well as helpful. As one of the other guest so succinctly stated; "It's like staying at the summer cabin!" All together there were 9 wedding guests staying here and none of us had any complaints. The grounds are lovely and "Mar" deserves a huge KUDO's for all of her hard work.

We would definitely stay here again.

Andrea & Florian,
Whitehorse, Yukon

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full kitchen and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
15
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Balfour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This review is to let other know that this is a sweet little place. Thr grounds are gorgeaous and we found it very friendly. We often would go away to the cabin for the weekend and that has this kind of feeling. If you are a mid range budget seeker with needs for a great view, quiet sleep, clean stay, You will have your choice of the newer wing (like an average hotel with fabulous view and quiet comforts) or the old heritage side with its verandas and garden walks. Our family and friends took up a number of rooms and everyone seemed to enjoy these digs. I would go back and stay a week or two and I am not easily pleased. I felt very safe there.

Room Tip: Choose the newer wing built in 1998 if you are fussy about your waterworks... bigger newer bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jt z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartzsite, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Just a few minutes North of Victoria's hustle and bustle is a relaxing way station along the way. That would be the Deer Lodge at Mill Bay.
If you confuse Techno with nice forget it.
If you confuse ostentatious with class go back to Victoria.
But if you equate value with views and amenities then go for it.
I had planned to stay a night and wound up staying two weeks in the relaxing atmosphere of the Deer Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AuthorJohnDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This motel is a blast from the past. Our unit was a large one bedroom with a woodburning fireplace in the living room, and kitchen. The furnishings and decor were definitely 70's which impressed my 14 year old son - hey mom, RETRO!! We were very comfortable here, however the unit had not been used for quite some time because the bathtub was full of spider webs and dead bugs - I gave the bathtub a good cleaning before my son showered. The management is pretty casual, we arrived at 9:00 pm and our key was taped to the office door. The motel and grounds are quite charming, and it was very quiet at night so we both got excellent sleeps. We didn't see any staff until we checked out Sunday morning, no housekeeping available. If you are visiting Brentwood or Shawnigan schools, there really isn't much choice in accomodation in Mill Bay. Would I stay here again? Yes, but I would ask for a freshly cleaned unit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wet_Coast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We talked to the receptionist and told her what kind of a room we were interested in. She showed us two rooms, and put us in a newly renovated suite with a full kitchen (including oven!), with a great view of the lake. Even though it was close to the Highway, we couldnt hear a thing. Very friendly and helpful staff, and great prices for high season.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OregonJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

When I moved to Mill Bay, I stayed at the Deer Lodge Motel on a monthly basis, the rooms were clean, excellent prices, grounds are kept in impeccable shape, our rooms had a view of the motel which was like a postcard. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlauriat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I have been on lots of roadtrips, stayed at lots of cheap motels...this one takes the cake.
From the outside, it looks like a nice place; peaceful, sweet view of the lake....
Then we saw the room. It was disgusting. It was less like a hotel room and more like a creepy mismatched grandma bedroom.
The 2 inch shag carpet smelled like mold, the toliet ran and was covered in black stains, the bed was lumpy with a dirty comforter and the cot we found in the closet was unmade and smelly. Plus, all of the furniture and decorations were mismatched and in various stages of disrepair.
Furthermore, when making the reservation we specified that we would need 4 beds/couches. There was one giant bed and a gross cot....but for some reason there were 8 chairs.
The funniest thing was that the sign out front advertised a "romantic setting"....hard to feel romantic when you're worried about getting a lung infection from the moldy carpet...
We got our money back and left without even having a reservation at another hotel...at 7pm on a Saturday in the summer. Thats how bad this place was.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gildat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mill Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Bay
11.5 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Ruthie's Roost B&B
Ruthie's Roost B&B
#1 of 3 in Mill Bay
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mill Bay Shores Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Malahat Bungalows Motel
Malahat Bungalows Motel
#2 of 2 in Malahat
21 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
5.2 mi away
Villa Eyrie Resort
Villa Eyrie Resort
#1 of 2 in Malahat
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge Motel

Property: Deer Lodge Motel
Address: 2529 Trans-Canada Hwy, Mill Bay, British Columbia V0R 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Mill Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mill Bay
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Deer Lodge Motel Mill Bay, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing