We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10-- twice!”
Review of Martine's Bistro

Martine's Bistro
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Comox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Comox BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“10 out of 10-- twice!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

'Martine's Bistro is real little jewel in the heart of beautiful Comox! Both times we have eaten there, the service was excellent, warm and friendly, the food outstanding, and the chef came out to meet us. The ambience is lovely, and you can dress up or be casual if you like. All in all an enjoyable experience every time we go. Our friends always have the steak, and we have tried 3 or 4 of the fish dishes and everything was delicious. Price-wise they are competitive with the other good restaurants in the Valley, of which we are lucky to have quite a few!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoomersComoxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    66
    17
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Winner”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We came upon Maxine's Bistro by chance and were very impressed. The decor was warm and inviting,no loud music and very attentive staff. The menu is varied and our meals were absolutely delicious!
Definitely a restaurant we would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynned245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great discovery”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat while visiting Comox and discovered Martine's which turned out to be a very fortunate experience. Our meals were excellent and the staff were attentive without being intrusive. The atmosphere was very pleasant. We all (four of us) agreed we would recommend Martine's to friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphJ594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's like - you know - everyone knows your name . . .”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Like a favorite novel or easy chair, Martine's is comfortable. The menu, relatively unchanged in several years, covers all the bases. The fresh sheet always tempts. The service is attentive and knowledgeable. I was taking my boss and his wife out for dinner for the first time and needed a place that I could count on for ambiance as well as the dining experience. Outstanding. Despite a full house for a Thursday night our server Paul got it all done. We shared appies. I had the curried chicken fettucine - outstanding. Around the table were salmon, beef and nasi goreng and all disaapeared with glowing remarks. I avoided dessert so I could concentrate on the wine. Couldn't be better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So bad”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

So bad - service, staff attitude, food, wines , waiting times, confidence all of it - they just don't bother or care please do not waste your money - there are plenty of other great places to eat in the valley

Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martine's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Martine's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing