We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good choice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martine's Bistro

Martine's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Comox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not a good choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We are fortunate to have good restaurants in the comox valley. Martians is not one of them being unpredictable in its service and food quality.

Helpful?
Thank Jharderis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    64
    17
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is the place for Dine Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My girlfriends and I have been checking out the various Dine Around menus throughout the valley over the last 2 weeks or so and Saturday night was Martine's turn. They are definitely offering the best value for your money in the valley and every dish I tried was delicious. I really loved the Thai curry carrot soup and goat cheese bruschetta starters. The duck leg was awesome, the tuna fantastic and the steak was apparently quite good as well (I didn't get to try any of it but my friend loved it). As for dessert the honey ginger creme brûlée was lovely and definitely my favourite of the two. Service was very good and it was really busy, in fact I would say you should definitely make a reservation if you plan on going as this place was hopping...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta!
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A dining pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went to try the Dine Around menu, and we were not disappointed. Ordered the mango curry fettuccine, and the bacon wrapped filet. Both came with appy's, a poached pear salad and the goats cheese bruschetta. Everything was fresh, well presented and cooked to perfection. We finessed with the ginger creme brûlée and chocolate cake duo - outstanding!!
My only complaint was that they served really ordinary tea - Tetley. They could really kick it up a notch, because after the meal we had, a nice cup of green tea would have been perfect.
Server was friendly and professional - another fine dining choice in the valley.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Martine's for their special valentine's menu last week and it was quite the treat. We both had the beets with goat cheese to start which i think was probably the best take on a beet salad that i have ever had. For the main course my husband chose the filet mignon which he said was perfectly cooked. I had the duck leg with cassoulet and it was amazing, just so flavourful. The dessert was a sampling of creme brulee and mousse which was a great way to end the meal. Really the whole night was wonderful, despite the restaurant being very busy our server was very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We will definitely be going back...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marywhiteswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Still a Strong Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our third trip to Martine's Bistro, and it didn't disappoint. As always the service was very attentive; the décor upscale but understated; the food very good. This is a place we routinely visit on trips to the Comox/Courtenay vicinity and have never been disappointed.
Tonight my wife and indulged in the special Valentine's Day menu. I started with the chowder which was very good...creamy, full of stock and veggie's, great flavor. My wife had a beet/cheese combination drizzled in a balsamic reduction and surrounded by orange slices. The layers of flavor on her appetizer were amazing...sweet, acid, tang, vinegar...amazing.
We both went tenderloin entre with al dente veggies and potatoes. The steak was a little tough, but perfectly seasoned and cooked to order. The mash potatoes were fairly ordinary, but the green beans, carrots and pepper were perfect.
For desert we had tastings of the crème brulee and chocolate mousse. Both were outstanding and the perfect topper to a very good meal.
Martine's does a great job throughout. They offer great service, great food, a great ambiance.. We will be back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank navswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martine's Bistro also viewed

 
Comox, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Martine's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing