We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable B&B I've ever stayed in.”
Review of Ginger Giraffe B&B

Ginger Giraffe B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ginger Giraffe B&B
Ranked #4 of 11 Comox B&B and Inns
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Most comfortable B&B I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is the most beautiful place I've ever stayed in. We stayed in the Oasis room the bed was fantastic. The breakfasts were to die for, tried some things I never had before. Nancy and Lloyd are wonderful, knowledgeable hosts and they were able to give us wonderful advice on places to visit. I will stay there again the next time I visit that area. I highly recommend this beautiful B&B.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful. The safari room has an attached bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Nancy was a wonderful and knowledgable hostess. Her breakfasts were a delight for all three mornings, and we hear she can go weeks without repeating. She also had great activity ideas, which we followed and loved. Our room was extremely comfortable, and we had unfettered access to the hot tub, patio and sitting area, as we were the only guests.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Ginger Giraffe is centrally located in Comox close to downtown/restaurants, beaches and the airport. We stayed in the Safari Room which is decorated in all things African from the Giraffe sculptures to the elephant mat in the en suite. It is very beautifully done with warm colours and not at all kitchy. The bed is very comfortable with nice linen. The bedroom is nicely private but there is also a living area with a stereo and television. There is an outdoor hottub which we did not use but the hosts provide fluffy bathrobes if you need them. The little bottles of champagne and the box of chocolates were nice touches. The breakfast was very good and our hostess, Nancy, made sure that any special requirements were met (vegetarian, allergies, etc.). We were very impressed with this place. On the cleanliness scale, it is pristine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Stayed 2 nights early May 2010. Lloyd & Nancy very good hosts. Room excellent and breakfast massive! Hot tub very good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying with Lloyd and Nancy whilst visiting Vancouver Island this year. They have the most amazing house and it is obvious that they take a lot of pride in their B & B. We stayed in the Indian room, absolutely fantastic. The bed was I think probably the biggest and most comfortable we have ever slept in. Shared bathroom, not a problem. Beautiful lounge with everything you could possibly want. Even in October we could use the hot tub, and we did - watching the stars and feeling totallly at peace with the world. Everything about this B & B is perfection.
For anyone staying in the Comox area I can fully recommend the Ginger Girafffe.
Joan & Rodger Alexander
Scotland

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootyflooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We were treated royally by Nancy and Lloyd and couldn't have asked for more. Their attention to detail and comfort is unsurpassed. The breakfasts were amazing...we stayed with them 2 nights, and both couples enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Having full use of the downstairs was an added bonus. It was great to get back there after a full day of touring and shopping and be able to put our feet up and enjoy a cold drink or a cup of tea.
We would recommend this B & B to everyone...be sure to check them out when you're in Comox or surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatheOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a home in the area, we booked into the Ginger Giraffe for a couple of nights. Located in a very nice neighborhood of Comox, close to downtown, marina, airport, golfing and skiing, everything really!!
The owners, Lloyd and Nancy, take great pride in their accommodations and services. Their hospitality is very warm and extremely helpful as to what is happening in the area…the where to go and what to do. The rooms are superior, we stayed in the African room and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The room décor is beautiful and stocked with snacks, mini fridge with complimentary bottled water, very large closet with robes and flip flops for the hot tub; iron and iron board. There is also internet, TV, microwave….everything you may need available.
The breakfasts are fantastic. Obvious is the fact that Nancy and Lloyd take a lot of time in the preparation and quality of breakfast served in the morning. A five star breakfast that does not leave you feeling stuffed. (for those of you who do not enjoy “the big breakfast in the morning, don’t worry you will love it, we had a different breakfast every morning) We very much enjoyed sitting at their breakfast table, easy going in nature they are a very entertaining couple with a great sense of humour. They will have your breakfast ready for whatever time you request the night before….do not sleep in and miss this breakfast! (although it may be hard as the bed is so comfortable).
Their B&B borders pasture land, we enjoyed viewing the deer and cows from the deck. (so close…you could almost reach out and pet them). Moo and Spuds (their cats) are very entertaining and Moo can do tricks if prompted by the right treats.
I am writing this review as I use tripadvisor reviews (an invaluable resource) for all our trips and book accommodations and plan our attractions/sightseeing from the reviews. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Comox Valley or locals who just want to treat themselves to a luxurious night away from the kids. Note to families, this B&B is not set up for kids.

  • Liked — highest quality of accomodations/hospitality and great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roscoCourtenay_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comox
0.9 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
819 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
3.1 mi away
Kye Bay B&B
Kye Bay B&B
#2 of 11 in Comox
42 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Giraffe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Giraffe B&B

Property: Ginger Giraffe B&B
Address: 1750 Yew Crt, Comox, British Columbia V9M 2L6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Comox
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Comox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 Star Canada select rated Comox B&B. Two luxurious appointed theme rooms, one African one Middle Eastern. The Safari comes with an ensuite bath, fireplace, queen four poster bed, robes, TV and many more ammenities. The Oasis has a private bath, king canopy bed, robes, etc... Both come with private keyless entrances, wireless internet, and available computer use. We are adult oriented, two cats on premises, gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ginger Giraffe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing