We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so homey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comox
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This is the most "home-like" motel/hotel that I've ever stayed in. If it were not for the fact that I am older than both of them, I would be tempted to call Dagmar and Kathy, "Mom".
I can't think of anything missing from their rooms; all the amenities are there.
The continental breakfast includes hot, cold and gluten-free cereals, toasts, boiled eggs, fruit, muffins, coffee, tea and milk, yoghurt and juices.
You won't find a better stay at a better price anywhere. In Comox, this will be my choice from now on.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tombassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Port Augusta Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 141 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place suited our needs perfectly. We had a suite and it was quite and very clean. Room was right on the road and across from the hospital but you couldn't hear a thing! Staff was very friendly and helpful too. Breakfast was well stocked and there was a lot of variety. My only complaint would be that all the dishes and cutlery were disposable... so much garbage...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northrngal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I booked a room with kitchenette for a few days because I needed to be at the Hospital.
It could hardly have been better, just a two minute walk and a quiet place for reflection after spending all day in a very sad situation. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We used tripadvisor to choose this inn. We were very content to find the affordable, spacious, clean, two-room suite with a very well-equipped kitchenette and large living room. The bathroom was simple but clean. The room rate included wifi, parking, a generous continental breakfast and there is an outdoor pool on-site. Good, right?

Unfortunately, we all had a terrible night's sleep. The plumbing shakes and rattles loudly in the wall every time someone in the room or the room above turns off the hot water. Each and every time.

Would love to recommend this inn as the owners are obviously making the effort with the convenience and cleanliness but the plumbing is a deal breaker. The front desk clerk did inform us that all the rooms have the same issue so we weren't just unlucky. If you go, bring ear plugs and you'll have a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bee072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALRUSH, Manager at Port Augusta Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Sorry for your SLEEPLESS NIGHT AT THE PORT AUGUSTA INN. We have two rooms that have had excessive noisy water pipes. In the midst of remodelling, the water pipes to the two suites were re-directed in order to improve the supply of constant hot water to the rooms. In the process, the air chambers that absorb the spiking in the water pressure that rattles the pipes was by-passed. The plumber will be in next week to install new water pressure dampeners.
As for the rest of the rooms at THE PORT AUGUSTA INN, they are very quiet. The rooms are in cased in concrete - concrete block walls and poured concrete floors and this makes for far quieter rooms than is typical with wood stick construction, Bee if you are ever out this way again give THE PORT AUGUSTA INN a try and we will make up for you and your families lost nights sleep. We were neglectful in not getting the noisy pipes fixed sooner - we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family of 6 recently stayed at this hotel while in Comox for a wedding. We had originally booked for 3 nights but added a day prior and afterward with a simple call one day before arriving. Our suite was as expected with a large living room with pull-out, 2 separate bedrooms and a complete kitchen with full-sized appliances. Our main-floor suite had sliding doors to a patio area with chairs. The outdoor pool was much appreciated and well-utilized by my 4 children (and me). The owner happily opened it in advance of the set time of 10am so the boys could enjoy a morning dip. The complementary breakfast consisted of standard fare, including hard-boiled eggs, and provided a good start to the day. Although our room didn't have a view, some of the rooms appeared to offer a view of the mountains and ocean across the street. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants, the downtown area and the wharf. If returning to the area, we would readily book at this hotel again as it is evident the owners value not only their property but also their customers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer 100 block, where the rooms have been renovated. Some of the upper 100 wing ro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopRasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We wanted to stay at this hotel after the positive reviews we read on trip advisor, it didn't disappoint. Nice big rooms that we very clean. The front end customer service was good. We chose not to have the free breakfast, the room seems a little small for a large hotel. They mentioned that trays were available to take your food to your room is you wish.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, nice views from there
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here 6 nights, because I found the room very comfortable and convenient. The room was very clean and well-appointed. The WiFi was fast and the free parking very convenient. A modest complimentary breakfast is provided in a room much too cramped during busy times. Reception was efficient and friendly, and management responded quickly to a minor issue.
Some of the rooms have balconies and are pet friendly....mine was not, so I can only comment on the room in this wing.
It was very comfortable and I can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I think the 300 block has very modern and clean rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comox
2.3 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
933 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
410 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Comox Valley Inn
Comox Valley Inn
#8 of 9 in Courtenay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Augusta Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Augusta Inn and Suites

Address: 2082 Comox Ave, Comox, British Columbia V9M 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Comox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comox
Price Range: $74 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Augusta Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT VALUE! - Offering large, clean, comfortable, Wi-Fi equipped guest rooms at an affordable price . All our rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. A coffee maker with free coffee and tea, fridge, cable TV, good Wi-Fi, hair dryer, and ironing facilities are provided in all guest rooms. VERY GOOD LOCATION! - Right across the street from St. Joseph Regional Hospital, 6 km from the Comox International Airport, 9 km from the Powell River Ferry, and 23 km from Mount Washington ski hill. The Valleys only marina and ocean walkway are within walking distance. Straight of Georgia and Beaufort Mountain views abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Port Augusta Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Augusta Hotel Comox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing