We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comox
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We found the Port August by accident; we were driving around Comox looking for accommodations closer to the airport than the ones in Courtenay when we passed this motel. It popped up on our GPS, so we pulled over and called about a one-night stay. The woman answering the phone was very pleasant, so we turned back for a look. The same woman was at the main desk, and indeed she was very nice, very accommodating.
The property itself is a little patched up and painted over in places, but obvious care is put into keeping it looking as good as possible. Our wing was set far enough off the street to make traffic noise a non-issue. There are several good restaurants within a short walking distance, too.
Our room (118) was on the ground floor; it was sparkling clean and smelled wonderfully fresh. Bed linens and bath towels were spotless. Amenities included a coffee maker (with a selection of teas and coffee, sugar, whitener), microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, bedside clock radio, phone, and a large flat-screen cable TV. No air conditioning in this room, though. In summer, this could be an issue, so check carefully. Smoking is permitted outside only.
We had an excellent sleep.
A continental "plus" breakfast is included in the room rate, and is available in a small room next to the check-in desk. Included were several types of cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate.
We found the Port August an excellent choice; all the above for well under $100 per night in April. We're told the high season rates aren't much more.
We will definitely stay here again when in town.

Room Tip: Check which rooms have a/c; in summer it can get hot here, and most rooms face south into the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Island_Sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
38
43
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This inn offers pleasant accommodation at a very reasonable price. The rooms in the single storey building close to the road are very clean and comfortable. There is a light breakfast available at Reception, but it’s not far to Smitty’s in the town and they have an excellent breakfast menu there. It's located on a fairly busy road, but relatively quiet. The free WiFi was appreciated. Very convenient for shopping in Courtenay or Comox.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the parking area in the single storey block were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've stayed at the Port Augusta Inn several times when coming to the Courtenay - Comox area. The price is so reasonable, compared to other recognizable chains, that we always return. Located in a more residential area, this motel is not far from the dining and shopping areas. Also, it is located across the street from St. Joseph's Hospital. For us, the great price and clean rooms draw us back time after time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbsDebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This inn was clean and affordable with all the amenities we required. It was close to downtown, restaurants and the water. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room, which was reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room, while older was clean and large, with fridge and coffee maker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildwilly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombier, Suisse
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in October. The staff were extremely friendly (when our ride did not show up the manger drove us to our destination for free!!)
The room was very clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast was good and there was free wifi.
I would certainly recommend the Port Augusta

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarnesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. The rooms were spotless and the staff very honestly friendly. Have not had a chance to go back but would in a minute. We were headed back east and the lady was able to inform us about road and weather conditions. It was very close to good restaurants. I had booked it online, sight unscene. Ahead of time, I asked about a restaurant we were interested in trying and was told it was a good restaurant and were given instructions on how to get there. What more could you ask?

Room Tip: Have only been in one, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This centrally located motel on comox avenue is very clean, great rooms, close to downtown and hospital with great staff. There is a large school yard across the street that dogs can use except Mom to Fri from 8:00 to 3:30 when school is in session. The onsite managers keep everything in tip top shape and are very accommodating even witnessed my signature and accepted a delivery for me. I had left my do not disturb sign on for several days and the housekeeping staff were concerned about me. Didn't I need anything? I have happily settled in for a 2 1/2 month stay. What higher praise can I give?

Room Tip: There are four different buildings each offering something different. Check their website for a com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comox
2.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
821 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
393 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Augusta Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Augusta Inn and Suites

Property: Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Address: 2082 Comox Ave, Comox, British Columbia V9M 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Comox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Augusta Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT VALUE! - Offering large, clean, comfortable, Wi-Fi equipped guest rooms at an affordable price . All our rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free Wi-Fi. A coffee maker with free coffee and tea, fridge, cable TV, good Wi-Fi, hair dryer, and ironing facilities are provided in all guest rooms. VERY GOOD LOCATION! - Right across the street from St. Joseph Regional Hospital, 6 km from the Comox International Airport, 9 km from the Powell River Ferry, and 23 km from Mount Washington ski hill. The Valleys only marina and ocean walkway are within walking distance. Straight of Georgia and Beaufort Mountain views abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Port Augusta Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Augusta Hotel Comox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing