We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Comox

“Respectable food, staff a bit stiff”
Review of Avenue Bistro

Avenue Bistro
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Comox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual upscale dining experience only 3-minutes from the Marina or an 8-minute drive from the airport. House-made creations, artisan cheeses, locally sourced gluten-free bread, and oceanwise seafood selections showcasing the bounty of Vancouver Island. Everything prepared daily using the freshest, natural ingredients. Seasonal Patio. Seafood, vegetarian and gluten-free choices available. Great lounge area to enjoy wine, beer and spirits. Popular Kids Menu
Reviewed January 21, 2020

I use this place occasionally and the food is respectable (understand, there are precious few dining choices in Comox. Most are below par).
The menu is decent and the wine list same.
However, the Staff (In particular the long term characters) are self important and pompous.
Somewhat bizarrely, the residents of Comox have a rather high opinion of themselves (God knows why. The town is a dress rehearsal for the local Cemetry) and this place carries that torch of stiffness.
Pop in for lunch and it will be good. Dare to use the place for a few cheeky pints with your mates on a Saturday night and you'll be thrown a look that could strip wallpaper.
It not what they do. Yawn.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nevertrustahippie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 295 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2020

Long standing favourite of our family’s. The atmosphere is classy but warm and food is excellent. My personal fav is the French toast breakfast -hazelnut crusted bread with tree island yogurt and maple syrup -so, so tasty and can order 1,2 or 3 slices. Hamburgers are great and west coast hash too.
The owners visit the tables and are super people. We liked it so much we asked if our son could work there!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Seaside785281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Oh yummy! Best curry dish I have had in awhile. It was busy but the staff was great and service was fast.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank rachaelf682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019

Lots of great gluten free and allergy conscious options. Best gluten free salt & pepper wings I’ve ever had!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank annadP2845OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

Truffle fries are the best and worth the visit.

Just tried the Fish tacos, very tasty with a bit of a spicy bite.

The Cobb salad is another favourite and it comes with the Green Goddess dressing, my favourite part of the salad.

The bartender has talent both with serving drinks and entertaining us when we are sitting up at the bar just having a night out for a drink.

This is becoming one of my favourite spots to relax.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Bistro also viewed

 
Comox, Comox Valley
Comox, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Avenue Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing