We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely worth while!”

Stubbs Island Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Columbia’s first whale watching company was established in 1980. Orca (killer whales) and many other marine mammals frequent the Johnstone Strait and Robson Bight area. Telegraph Cove is located on Northern Vancouver Island.We invite you to join us for an exciting sea adventure from Telegraph Cove, the Whale Watching Capital of British Columbia! You’ll love our island, the magnificent mammals, the rare bird species you’ll see, and the friendly people you’ll meet. Depending on the time of year in British Columbia, you may see, Humpback whales, Dall’s or Harbour porpoises, Minke Whales, Pacific White-sided dolphins, Harbour seals, Stellar sea lions, bears, various birds and of course our famous Orca (killer whales).
2 reviews
“Absolutely worth while!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

A little early in the season, dreary weather in the morning... Should we spend the money and go anyway? Absolutely! Knowledgeable and passionate staff, warm gear... The weather cleared and it was great! We even saw a humpback doing a lunge feed on the captain spotted "bate ball" that the rhino auklet birds had corralled... we were so close it was amazing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    46
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great people/great view!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Probably wasn't the best time of year to go whale watching (May) but they said there have been hump back whales in the area and the weather was great so off we went. Small group about 15 people this time of year, the captain was GREAT! He allowed people to be with him in the spacious wheelhouse and was very accomodating, knowledgeable and friendly.
They also had Kyle, I forget if he was a biologist in the making or what, but he was great too and very passionate about whales, and the environment.
Seen wild life, but no whales, was a great 3 1/2 trip on the water. Makes us want a boat! Clean air clean water!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank janinereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good trip”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a good trip with Stubbs Island Whale Watching. We had a marine biologist on board (Kyle) who is obviously very enthusiastic about whales and other wildlife. He really made an effort to inform everyone about the wildlife we saw (and the seaweed). A good job since the boat is quite big. We had some great Humpback sightings which made it a great tour despite the rain. Only we would have liked to spend more time with the Pacific White Sided Dolphins at the end of the tour. It felt like we couldn't even stop for one minute because we we're out of time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maarten_Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We liked this tour a lot. I do not rate it as excellent because of the larger crowds on this tour. The day before we did the Tide rip grizzly tour and that was very personal. Ok, it is unfair to compare these two also because of the pricetag and duration of the trip. It was very foggy in the morning so it was really an adventure when we departed from the harbor. The highlights were, ofcourse, the pod of 12 killer whales and the enormous group of 150+ dolphins that escorted us in the water. Sealions, eagles, seals and porpoises were also on hand to provide the icing on the already delicious cake. If we do this again I think we will go in the afternoon when the fog is gone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stubs island recently provided water taxi service during the disruption of ferry services due to the dock replacement in Powell River. By chance we did see whales during some of the crossings, the staff were obviously in their element sharing their knowledge with us. What an awesome experience, the people were very friendly and cheerful. Excellent service! Looking forward to seeing them again on one of their regular trips. I recommend this company to anyone that enjoys spending time around awesome people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubbs Island Whale Watching also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Stubbs Island Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing