We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip”

Stubbs Island Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Columbia’s first whale watching company was established in 1980. Orca (killer whales) and many other marine mammals frequent the Johnstone Strait and Robson Bight area. Telegraph Cove is located on Northern Vancouver Island.We invite you to join us for an exciting sea adventure from Telegraph Cove, the Whale Watching Capital of British Columbia! You’ll love our island, the magnificent mammals, the rare bird species you’ll see, and the friendly people you’ll meet. Depending on the time of year in British Columbia, you may see, Humpback whales, Dall’s or Harbour porpoises, Minke Whales, Pacific White-sided dolphins, Harbour seals, Stellar sea lions, bears, various birds and of course our famous Orca (killer whales).
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good trip”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a good trip with Stubbs Island Whale Watching. We had a marine biologist on board (Kyle) who is obviously very enthusiastic about whales and other wildlife. He really made an effort to inform everyone about the wildlife we saw (and the seaweed). A good job since the boat is quite big. We had some great Humpback sightings which made it a great tour despite the rain. Only we would have liked to spend more time with the Pacific White Sided Dolphins at the end of the tour. It felt like we couldn't even stop for one minute because we we're out of time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maarten_Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    46
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We liked this tour a lot. I do not rate it as excellent because of the larger crowds on this tour. The day before we did the Tide rip grizzly tour and that was very personal. Ok, it is unfair to compare these two also because of the pricetag and duration of the trip. It was very foggy in the morning so it was really an adventure when we departed from the harbor. The highlights were, ofcourse, the pod of 12 killer whales and the enormous group of 150+ dolphins that escorted us in the water. Sealions, eagles, seals and porpoises were also on hand to provide the icing on the already delicious cake. If we do this again I think we will go in the afternoon when the fog is gone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stubs island recently provided water taxi service during the disruption of ferry services due to the dock replacement in Powell River. By chance we did see whales during some of the crossings, the staff were obviously in their element sharing their knowledge with us. What an awesome experience, the people were very friendly and cheerful. Excellent service! Looking forward to seeing them again on one of their regular trips. I recommend this company to anyone that enjoys spending time around awesome people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you love whales, you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

On our recent stay at Telegraph Cove we had four outings on the Stubbs Island whale watching tour, both morning and afternoon for two days. We enjoyed it more when there were less people on board, giving us more room for viewing and photos, but it is a good day out regardless. We were very disappointed that on these trips we did not see even one orca, but the weather leading up to the whale watching had been very rough and for some reason the orcas had gone elsewhere and the tour can't be faulted for something like that which is obviously out of their control. However, we were rewarded by many sightings of humpback whales and were able to observe their gape and lunge feeding behaviour, which was fascinating. We also got to see them breaching. There was a marine biologist on board who was very knowledgable and passionate about the whales and was able to give us a lot of helpful information throughout the trip as well as an environmental / conservation talk towards the end of the cruise. Captain Wayne does a great job and knows which areas to take you to. There is a lot of other wildlife to spot in addition to orcas and the humpback whales which are making a spectacular comeback from almost being wiped out. We saw bald eagles and many other type of birds, Dalls porpoise, stellar sea lions and Pacific white sided dolphins to name a few. The scenery itself is stunning, but be prepared for fog or rain. Wear warm clothes and dress in layers. Wet weather gear will probably come in handy and is a good addition to have.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bonnybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Canada trip”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We went on this whale trip twice because we liked it so much .
We seen so much wildlife such as orcas whales dolphins seals birds.
Our captain was very good at his job he took us to the best spots to see the wildlife
We got really close to humpbacks and orcas so close that we could smell the fishy breath of
The humpback as it came up for air . We could see inside its mouth that's how close it came to us.

One of the very many WOW moments of this trip loved every min of it. Will come back soon.
Ps bring a camera lots of memory on it and some bins.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Derektaylor50lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stubbs Island Whale Watching also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Stubbs Island Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing