We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Telegraph Cove Resort
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Telegraph Cove resort was fantastic, it is a quaint little village right on the Water with cabins accessed by a boardwalk. The accomodation was a little pricey but well worth it. The cabins were nothing flash but had an old world charm about them. It was such a unique experience, nothing else on the Island compares, it is something that you must do when visiting Vancouver Island. Definitely stay for at least two nights and do the Tide Rip bear watching and salmon tour as well as a whale watching tour. We even saw Orcas from the boardwalk at dusk, something that we will remember for a lifetime. Highly recommend : )

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becsta81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2008

We were so very disappointed in the resort. I had expected it to be the highlight of our trip, but instead found the experience less than good. The dead fish heads and fish odor was almost as bad as the flies in our room. The room was tired at best, the mattress horrible and the cleanliness a 1 star. The area is beautiful and the trips to grizzly watch etc were awesome and not to be missed. Go for the trips but unless you are a fisherman, stay someplace else!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cadreamin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Stayed on the Telegraph Cove Resorts camp site with my father in July and August 2007. Campsite is located away from the cove itself a little, but is amongst the trees and extremely well cared for by friendly site manager. Sites have fire rings and the washroom block is kept really clean, (free hot showers). At night it is so dark you can practically see every star in the sky, but you will need a good flashlight to find your way around. Went on an overnight kayak trip with North Island Kayak in Telegraph Cove and was treated to amazing wildlife viewing in the most natural setting you can imagine. There was a black bear on the beach during breakfast, sea lions swam along side our kayaks the whole day and we witnessed a pod of orca's swim by the beach (Kycash?) where we had spent the night. Great food too. Take thermals though, its cold at night. In Telegraph Cove there are great Paninni's and coffee at the Seahorse Cafe.

3  Thank should_of_gone_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed in Wastell Manor and after leaving our previous B&B which was lovely Wastell Manor came as a bit of a shock. The walk from the carpark with luggage is quite long and on boardwalk so suitcases with wheels can get stuck. The suitcases then have to be carried up several rickety slippery steps. When we arrived it was overcast and damp apparently it is better in the sunshine but this remains to be seen. It poured with rain whilst we were there and we had a leak in our room on an inside wall!! Several phonecalls later, there is not phone in the house so you have to go to the pub or trek up to the office, a bath mat was put on the floor to soak up the water and a hole left in the wall where the water came through. I then became worried as to what would happen if there was a fire as the house does not have a phone or any fire extinguishers that I could see and all access is wooden.

Breakfast can be found in the cafe from 10 until 11 but if you are on a whale or bear trip both of them start well before then so the only place to get breakfast is at a kiosk.

Housekeeping was not up to scratch in fact on the day of the leak our room was not cleaned and dirty glasses and cups from previous occupants were left in the shared kitchen for 3 days before the housekeeping staff decided to wash them up.

Decor tired and only plus side was that we met several other travellers and were able to share experiences whilst sitting in the shared sun(?) room.

As previous reviews there is not much to do in the area but we came here to see the killer whales and were not dissapointed although they were late this year and we saw them on a fishing trip and not the organised whale watching trip.

Captive audience for food so it was more expensive than any of the other places that we ate in on our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We checked in here at 4pm and by 7pm we had checked back out and asked for our money back. We are not that fussy but we felt there were some serious health and safety problems with this resort.
When we first arrived, we thought the room felt a little tired and run down, but we expected that from an old resort, and it gave the place character. We locked our rucksacks and camera's in the cabin and then went to the car to get our luggage. However, when we got back to the cabin, we could not unlock our door! We thought we were just being daft, so went to reception, who gave us another key just in case. That also did not work, so the lady called the maintenence man (who is also the owner) to have a look. An hour later, and we were finally back in our room - however it had taken several power tools to remove the lock in order to do this!! This now meant that the cabin was not secure. The owner tried to ensure us that the whole area was safe and we had no need to lock the cabin, as noone in the area does. That might be the case, but when we have all our favourite possessions, along with passports, traveller's cheques etc, there is no way we are leaving them in an unlocked cabin, with who knows who wondering around outside. On top of all this, we then noticed that there was no smoke alarm and the fire extinguishers were 30 years old and looking very rusty! My husband is heavily involved in H&S for the company he works for in England, and according to him those fire extinguishers were extremely dangerous and illegal.
So, our next step was to find somewhere else - and we did - Hidden Cove Lodge, less than 15 minutes away.
To give Telegraph Cove credit, the lady behind reception was very helpful and understanding all the way through - she gave us a full refund no questions asked. (she did actually offer another cabin, but this was a studio room for the same price as the 3 bedroom cabin we were staying in - and she couldn't give us a discount!). She also said that she agreed the place needs a lot of refurbishment. The funny thing is, the lock on the door to the cabin had just been replaced!!

Telegraph Cove is a lovely plave to visit - the whale museum is great - but don't stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at the campground which was a very nice commercial campground.

The restaurant is really pretty good, but be sure to get them to cook the fish VERY LIGHTLY, no one on the island seems to know how to cook salmon. If the weather is nice you can sit on the porch and watch the 2 resident bald eagles in the harbor fight over salmon carcasses. Pretty pleasant!

The bear watch trip was EXCELLENT, if you can, be sure to go on the Zodiacs. You go in survival suits in the open, but it is really fantastic you're so close to the water. This made the entire trip worthwhile.

The whale watch was a real disappointment.We get better whale watching in New England and the very heavy handed "ecology talk" well accomplished the stated goal of depressing the guests. Not recommended

One thing to keep in mind about northern Vancouver Island is that it is pretty much the province of the timber companies so there aren't a lot of scenic areas or hiking trails around as there are in the central island area. There are however a lot of trees, which make the views from the road very limited.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NCARalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

My family of four, husband, son 17, daughter 12 and I stayed in cabin #6. It has 1 bedroom downstairs (queen) with a nice closet. Up a unique and very narrow stairwell are 2 more bedrooms (you walk through one to get to the other). One room has 2 twins. The other room has a queen and 1 twin under the sloping roof line. There is a living room with 2 couches and an easy chair. A big fully equipped kitchen with a dining table for 6. BYO dishwasher detergent, hairdryer. Bring warm jammies as the building sits over the water and there are no heaters upstairs. You can feel vibrations from people walking in the house and sometimes on the boardwalk. The bathroom has a shower only (quite small). The structure itself is old, but the kitchen looks new. Beds are comfy. Not glamorous, but spacious and unique. BYO food as T.Cove is in the middle of nowhere. A very long drive up the island get km marker before trip. Gorgeous scenery- home of Stubbs whale watching. Different cabin configurations available. We were quite happy.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank finnishspitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telegraph Cove
9.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
47 reviews
31.7 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
88 reviews
30.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
4.2 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
53 reviews
5 mi away
Seine Boat Inn
Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Cove Resort

Address: Box 1, Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Telegraph Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Telegraph Cove
Price Range: $117 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Telegraph Cove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telegraph Cove is tucked away on the eastern coast of Northern Vancouver Island. This tiny and picturesque village is a major destination during the summer months when the snug little bay bustles with whale watchers, fishermen, boaters, campers and kayakers. Telegraph Cove Resort has a rich and colourful past and is one of the last boardwalk settlements left on Vancouver Island. Telegraph Cove Resort boasts a large variety of accommodation choices. From cozy cabins & historic homes to modern condominium suites, we have something for every taste and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Telegraph Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraph Cove Hotel Telegraph Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing