We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dockside 29: Basic accommodation with good view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Telegraph Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telegraph Cove Marina & RV Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Telegraph Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I think all accommodation in Telegraph Cove are well overpriced. This applies also to Dockside 29 which belongs to the Marina & RV Park. Dockside 29 is newly build but far from modern. The rooms are basic and have a total lack of charm. However, the view onto the marina and over to the old part of Telegraph Cove was actually quite nice and the room was clean.

The woman at the reception seemed a bit odd. She had the charm of a grumpy camping place manager. However, she was not unfriendly.

Given the limited choice, the even pricier old part of Telegraph Cove and that we only stayed for one night (before we went on our 4 day kayaking trip) I think we would have chosen this place again. But keep your expectations low and enjoy the view and the stroll through the old part...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

For Touring RV's there are 2 choices for Telegraph Cove, each run by the 2 principal business interests in the Cove - the Marina or the Resort. (We looked at the latter first - their Forest RV park -but it had disadvantages for us; it's a km uphill a rough gravel track from TC village, very shady and tree-laden and humid, no views, and odd placement of hookups and we actually couldn't see how to plug in both the electricity and the water as you would need an extraordinarily long lead / pipe of one or the other), and no WiFi - so we chose the Marina, which is a short walk from the Cove and some of the pitches also have views of Johnstone strait. The wifi works well but costs 4.95 a day. Pitch 26 is the best, with nice views and the closest to the communal firepits, with copious free firewood or driftwood. Showers good but cost 1 dollar a go. But there is no seclusion, shade or shelter. I don't think one of the campgrounds is better than the other, but they cater for different tastes and needs, so check out which one suits you best. We were quite happy at the Marina.

Room Tip: Pitch 26 is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Dockside 29 is part of a new development at Telegraph Cove, and includes studio type suites and a Marina. It appears that the is a lot of building going on in the area and it may change a lot in the next few years. Dockside 29 does not have the "charm" of Telegraph Resort, but the rooms are very nice, large with 2 queen beds, wonderful bathroom with large shower, and overlooks the Marina though a large window. TV with plenty of channels. WiFi is provided cheaply by a local not for profit organisation; it worked fine in one room we stayed in, but not in another. One thing I found a bit odd is that there is only one access route to the room as the large picture window only has small opening panes. I'd prefer a second way out for emergencies... The rooms are beside the Seahorse Cafe which sells salmon, bison and beef burgers as well as good coffee and snacks. It is open from 7.00 to 19.00 in high season, all seating is outside. There is a pub and restaurant about 5 mins away in the original resort. The manager was very friendly and extremely helpful with parking; we left our car even when we were away on tours.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Teuntje18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank HeiRo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod T, Front Office Manager at Telegraph Cove Marina & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag om in het oude stadsgedeelte te verblijven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KoenVW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod T, Front Office Manager at Telegraph Cove Marina & RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telegraph Cove
9.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
46 reviews
31.7 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
84 reviews
11.4 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
31.0 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
178 reviews
106.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph Cove Marina & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph Cove Marina & RV Park

Address: Dockside 29, Telegraph Cove, British Columbia V0N 3J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Telegraph Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Telegraph Cove
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing