We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Eco-tour option on North Vancouver Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tide Rip Grizzly Tours

Tide Rip Grizzly Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tide Rip Grizzly Tours Ltd. is a small independent company located in Telegraph Cove on Northern Vancouver Island, British Columbia. For over 15 years, Tide Rip has been leading daily boat-based expeditions to view and photograph the wild grizzly bears and other spectacular wildlife native to coastal British Columbia. We subscribe to the philosophy: 'conservation through coexistence' and endeavour to promote that through outreach education programs and presentations, fundraising projects, and sponsoring conservation NGOs, in addition to our daily grizzly bear tours.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Eco-tour option on North Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my top recommendation for the North Vancouver Island area. My wife and I absolutely loved the experience, and we plan to take more trips with them. The trip was easy to schedule (reservation was by email) and we checked in the evening before.

The morning started off foggy, but it cleared on the way to Glendale Cove. Our guides reviewed the itinerary and viewing guidelines with us. During the ride through the inlet, we encountered a small pod of white-sided dolphins.

When we arrived at the floating docks, we switched vessels and they transported us into the estuary. During our time here, we spotted eight grizzly bears (including two mothers with two cubs each) and countless bald eagles. The group was very happy with outcome.

Afterwards, we had lunch at the floating dock and departed. Our guide took us to Glacier Bay, where we viewed a beautiful waterfall and stopped by another salmon run frequented by grizzlies.

On the ride back to Telegraph Cove, the guides provided great narratives on the different wildlife and ecosystems in the area. Overall, the staff was very accommodating and enthusiastic about viewing the wildlife in a safe and respectful manner. The tour was by far our greatest highlight to our visit to North Vancouver Island. We will definitely return to take another tour with them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_Burkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    16
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We got picked up from Hidden Cove by Lyndsey and Clem, and travelled up to Knight Inlet, seeing humpbacks and porpoises en route. It was down to Lyndsey and clem's skill and experience that we managed to get really close to a mother bear and her two cubs, and stayed out for longer than the other boats doing a similar thing. Seeing the bears up close in such a pristine environment was an amazing experience - will never forget it! The guides were amazing and full of information and enthusiasm. Would definitely recommend the trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn_2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was on the 26th August Trip. I got picked up from Port Mcneil by one of the guides - Lyndsey, which really helped! The whole day was amazing and more than I ever could have imagined. We saw 2 Mummy Grizzlys and their cubs up close. We also saw a black bear and it's cub on the banks. Got brilliant photos. It was worth every penny. Nature can be unpredictable so there was an element of luck in our sightings but still Lydnsey and Clement were so friendly and knowledgeable. You could tell that they really wanted us to get the best experience possible.

I will definitely be coming back! I would recommend this to anyone who has a passion for bears and wants to see them up close with people that know what they are doing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were Collected from hidden cove lodge, where we were staying by tide rip, and travelled to the inlet where we were transferred to a skiff. Lyndsey, our guide quickly spotted a grizzly mother with her cub playing in the sedges. Got some fab photos. Later, once the tide has risen we moved further into the inlet and wow, came across a young Male on the bank in front of us. He moved off and a mother and baby visited us in the water. They were hooking dead salmon out of the water and having a feast. We stood in silence for some time amazed, we were so close but lyndsey respected the bears privacy. My photos are fab, memories of the day will remain very special. Trip is worth every penny.

Dress warm, wear socks to keep feet warm also. dont spoil your day by getting cold. Tide rip recommend dark colours so as not to startle the bears .

Enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

What an unforgetable day made even more so by our two guides Derek and Theresa - both very knowledgeable and obviously very aware of the environment and the local wildlife,

Trip starts early but plenty coffee, yoghurts, muffins, & fresh fruit on the boat and very soon after leaving we managed to see 2 wolves walking along the shoreline. Derek advised this is extememely rare and he himself was very excited at this, and even more so when the 2 wolves disappeared into the woods and the pack began howling it was surreal and eerie.

After continuing our journey we came across a massive pod of dolphins -hundreds and they began following the boat and leaping out of the sea it was an unforgetable site and really glad that my wife managed to video it. Off to Knight inlet catching some black tailed deer on the shore and then trasferring over to the flatboat which Theresa and Derek had to pull up the inlet as the tide was out, immediately came across a number of Sea Eagles, some with their young chicks, amazing how close and watching them eat salmon plucked from the river. The river is teaming with salmon never seen so many must be thousands nd at times difficlut to see teh river bed which at the time was vry shallow.

Moving up river we soon came across some bears and spent quite a time watching them playing and catching and eating salmon -amazing and unforgetable experience. By the time we headed back down the river the tide had come in and the inlet was swollen by 2 to 3 metres of water and we were watching the seals chasing the salmon up the now deep river inlet.

Back to the boat for a good salad lunch which was very enjoyable and on way back to Telegraph Cove we came across a small pod of killer whales which was a perfect end to a long and tiring day. My reasonable SLR camera could have benefited from a better zoom lens so definitley take a very good camera and a really good zoom lens - it will be worht it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank macGlasgow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tide Rip Grizzly Tours also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Tide Rip Grizzly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing