We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet location in off peak ski season”
Review of Sun Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Peaks Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel has a lovely facade from the front, reasonable rooms, comfortable beds, and handy spot in the village. Pity the proprietors aren't as friendly to their customers as much as they were to the tourist guide

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Can't comment on value for money as this was part of our whole Rocky Mountaineer tour, but we did like the hotel, it was clean comfortable, staff was helpful and friendly, food was great. Sun Peaks itself is a pretty little village but we were glad we were only staying 1 night as it was certain very quiet as previous reviewers have commented. Wasn't looking for a crazy night life but was very sleepy after vibriant Whistler!

Room Tip: Go in winter at the height of the tourist season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieMc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Sun peaks seems to be more of a winter resort than a summer one with lots of shops and restaurants closed. The lodge itself is well located and the rooms aren't too bad but looked a bit basic. The wi-fi however is poor in the hotel and I actually got better use out of a neighbouring hotels wi-fi. I would recommend staying here if was just for an overnight stay if driving around the area or go in the winter when the resort is fully open.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdchawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Sun Peaks itself is really nice, like a small version of Whistler, however, at this time of the year, very few of the shops and restaurants were open. Sun Peaks Lodge was disappointing for the following reasons. One room was not ready at 4pm, despite checkin stating 2pm. The rooms were incredibly warm, even though we tried to turn off or lower heating, the antiquated control, didn't seem to have any effect. The ice machine for drinks wasn't working and the reception staff were not overly friendly, althought they were not rude. One really frustrating thing was that the hotel advertised dinner and breakfast yet when we, and other guests enquired we were told they were not doing dinner or breakfast unless we were part of two group bookings travelling through, and that there were several other restaurants in the village. Unfortunately not all were open, and at breakfast we only found two, one which couldn't offer coffee as their machine had broken. Don't rely on internet access as advertised either, it only worked when I sat in the small foyer area. The good points were that the hotel was very clean, and the bed comfortable, although there wasn't much room with the two queen sized beds. The decor was also date, despite a recent refurb.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Karen0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lovely hotel,Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very nice. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Well I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It was clean, the king-sized bed was a king, and the location was convenient. The issues...a drunk guy riding the elevator up and down..who wasn't staying in the hotel. (they kicked him out). There are many signs posted in the hot tub area, that you must wear a swim suit/trunks at all times, even though the signs were in German and in English...the European tourists did not seem to care! (thanks, I am done in the hot tub now)! and the walls were paper-thin...babies crying (I know, not their fault), people who were leaving at 3:30 in the am..having way to much fun in the hallways on there way. I am afraid I had to wait until I got home to get a good nights sleep! You would think after snowshoeing for 5 1/2hours..you would get a good nights sleep, but I am afraid that was not the case. The manager did apologize when we brought up our issues, offered to buy us a beer....
The price per night ....maybe ..almost made up for the rest...but I would hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeno66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked at Sun Peaks Lodge through a ski and stay package on the resort website. It was an awesome deal. For essentially the price of a lift ticket, we had accomodations and the lift ticket. We arrived at the lodge early in the morning to pickup our lift ticket vouchers. We had planned to ski the day and check-in after we were done. Much to our surprise the room was ready and we were told we could check in before skiing that morning.

The ski in/out is great and they have a large room available downstairs to house your equipment, dry boots, etc. We picked up our lift tickets from a ski shop right across from the lodge (staff there were extremely friendly) and then just clicked into our skiis and off to the lift. The room itself was nice, very clean and overlooked the village shops, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC-Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sun Peaks hotels
0.1 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#7 of 7 in Sun Peaks
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Pinnacle Lodge
Pinnacle Lodge
#1 of 8 in Sun Peaks
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Peaks Lodge

Address: 3180 Creekside Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range: $100 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Peaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sun Peaks Lodge, a full service family hotel, is located in the heart of Sun Peaks Resort, with ski-in/ski-out access, just steps away from the chairlift for skiing, hiking and biking and the 18-hole Golf Course. All the village shops & restaurants are located directly outside the front door. The luxurious, newly renovated 44 rooms including the Jacuzzi Suite are tastefully decorated and feature flat screen TV with extended movie channels, comfortable beds with duvets, new furniture, hotel fridge, private safe, phone, coffee maker with complimentary coffee/tea, iron/ironing board and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Peaks Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing