We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best experience”
Review of Pinnacle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinnacle Lodge
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rarely does someone or someplace exceed your expectations. Pinnacle Lodge was clean and quiet. Richard; who runs the place; went above and beyond all expectations. Beautiful place to stay. If you are planning a trip to Sun Peaks you should stay at Pinnacle Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Pinnacle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

It is always nice to hear that the staff is exceeding your expectations. Richard and his crew work really hard to make everyone's stay memorable. Please come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed one night at the Pinnacle after a full day of cross country skiing. We arrived at 320pm, 40 mins before check in, technically. Richard greeted us at the door and told us to have a seat in the dining room area, that he'd check us in shortly. We waited about 10 minutes, he returned, chatted to us briefly, disappeared again to return a few mins later with keys. He ran through the drill of things to know about the property, then suddenly got up, said he had the wrong room keys and returned with a new set of keys.
We'd booked a King room, he told us he had a queen room for us... that there were only 4 Kings in the whole resort, but the website didn't mention that he said.
He took us to our room in the next building. It was right next to the outside door that SLAMMED shut every time someone went in or out, and the poorly sound insulated staircase to the work out area/hottub.
It was noisy in the afternoon, and we worried about how much sleep we'd get that night. We thought about calling Richard to enquire about another room, as the hotel info said to do if we had any concerns, but the room phone didn't even have a dial tone, so we couldn't have called anyway!
We went out for the evening and decided to consume enough drinks with dinner to be able to hopefully just zonk at bedtime and not hear people come and go. It must have worked, we only heard the slam of the door to the outside once in the middle of the night.
There is a $16 resort fee per person which includes breakfast. It was just ok...
Tried to use the hottub the next morning, and it was out of order... that was disappointing.
Would we stay again...? Maybe, since it was still better than the noisy Cahilty... (is there something about Sun Peaks properties that are all poorly sound proofed? Although the Delta was a good experience...) And Richard was very friendly. But, since home is only a 40 min drive away, we might just drive home next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room #3 in the second building, it's right near the door and the stairs! noisy if people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DawnChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family spent the most relaxing week of Christmas at the Lodge. From check in to check out Richard and his staff made our stay very enjoyable. The homemade breakfasts every morning were very yummy and the variety was an added bonus. Very clean and comfortable. We loved to gather and hang out in the large room in the 2nd bulding on the main floor. Richard is a very genuine and caring person who just wants to make everyone's stay memorable. Well I have to say that he succeeded and we hope to come back for Christmas 2013 but only if Richard is still there. The Village is less than a 10min walk from the Lodge. When you are at Sun Peaks you will also have to experience the dog sledding and Mountain High Pizza.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HayleysMom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Richard - this the person who makes all my ratings up. It feels like you came visiting your uncle who was missing for you for so long and tries to make your stay comfy. He is always on the go and doing something, he is everywhere to assist you, sometimes I thought: he has few clones. Beautiful lodge, clean inside out, cozy rooms, home-made breakfast. Excellent place to stay. By far, this the best we ever stayed.
Message to owner: Richard makes your business - never seen such person who loves his job and so committed to it. If I would own hotel - I would make him an offer and outbid you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our room was nicely decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable. But the front desk and dining experience was definitely beyond outstanding. Richard made our stay more than we anticipated or expected. Excellent food prepared by Richard himself and a genuine caring attitude regarding our needs and wants made this stay extremely memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Pinnacle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We appreciate your review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Our one-night stay at the Pinnacle Lodge was perfect. The room was great with a mantelpiece between the bedroom and the bathroom. Hot drinks and cookies were provided to us when we arrived in the afternoon and the breakfast was homemade.
We strongly recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in the BC which is far better than our other experiences in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cigogne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have just come back from a 4 day ski trip with my wife and 2 kids and I am more relaxed than I was, when we came back from 2 weeks in Cancun!!!! The main reason was Richard and his lovely staff Anna and the kind German lady. We were not only served excellent food but we experienced a caring and homely service that was so surprising and unexpected that I can only describe as "motherly care". From the first moment we were greeted with a smile and given every possible chance to make our stay relaxing and joyful. By the end of our trip my kids had found a friend in Richard and were sad to leave, they gave him a big hug and thanked him for his kindness.In short, Pinnacle Lodge doesn't offer luxury but who needs it when there is loving care.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheevasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sun Peaks hotels
0.4 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#7 of 7 in Sun Peaks
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Peaks Grand Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Lodge

Address: 2503 Eagle Court | PO Box 1033, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 5N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sun Peaks
Price Range: $126 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinnacle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pinnacle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacle Lodge Hotel Sun Peaks
Pinnacle Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing