We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Oya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Sun Peaks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
europe
Level Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our choice, miso soup and a platter with sushi, rools and maki for two. Quickly served, but food not comparable with what you can expect in a larger city.

At 7pm, we were brought the check before being asked for desert or coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kismetkate
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Three Ss”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Snow , slopeside and sushi. Good simple Japanese food which makes a welcome change to more usual ski resort offerings of burgers steak and pizza. Charming decor and service. Good wine and beer list. It can get busy so book ahead.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kismetkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - great service - great food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

From the moment we walked in to Oya we were welcomed to a lovely meal. The owner Paul is behind the sushi bar, his wife and daughter were helping. The food was fast, fresh and nicely prepared. Service was excellent and we found the prices to be reasonable for quality ingredients at a ski hill. They recommended the toro sashimi and it was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tusker_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent sushi but too expensive”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I used to love the Oya restaurant in Kamloops because they had good quality sushi. Unfortunately their sushi prices have gone up and the quality has gone down. The restaurant at Sun Peaks is unfortunately suffering from the same issues. It's great to have sushi as an option on the hill, but I think they can do better.

When you ask for green tea you're given a small teapot with a tea bag in it and when you want more tea they just bring you more hot water so you can reuse your tea bag. The dining area is small and it can be difficult to get a table with a group during the busy season. They do have some new lunch specials that look reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A-night-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so close...”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Pricey at average quality. We are from Richmond, BC so we know good sushi. But give them credit, service was good and staff are friendly. Let's put it this way, if they happen to be in Richmond, they will be out of business.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eliabear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Oya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing