We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bears lair lodge amazing!”
Review of Bear's Lair Lodge

Bear's Lair Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sun Peaks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Lair Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A fantastic stay with great people, beautiful village , loved the lodge, hot tub, and our great host RIch! A great place for families, and groups looking for a get away weekend, summer would be amazing with the golf course! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Bear's Lair this past ski season for 3 nights with a large group.
It's very large and roomy, even with a large group. It accommodated our group of 30, no problem. It's a duplex set up with double everything; kitchens, living areas, bathrooms, etc. It also has a large games room on one side.
The cabin is dated, the furniture is fairly worn, and many things are in need of repair. It is also about a 3 minute drive in to the village. We had some issues with heating, as well.
It reminds me of the kind of place we rented in our 20's with as many friends as we could stuff in to it.
Bottom line is that this place is definitely quantity over quality, albeit at a really good price - if you are okay sharing with 30 of your closest friends. The owner lives in the bottom of the cabin, completely separate, and was there to attend to any of our concerns as best he could.
We had fun skiing, and sledding on a hill right outside the cabin but the Bear's Lair was just not plush enough, even for our average expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adognamedrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A group of us Mom's get together once a year for a weekend get-a-way (no kids, no hubby's). This year is our fourth year going. Rich is such a great host! So big koodo's to Rich for being such a great host and now friend. I would and have recommended Rich's place with very high regards.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaldora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I'm surprised to be the first to rate this lodge. The owner, Rich Brew, is probably the nicest, most helpful man i've worked with. The pictures up on the sun peaks website does the lodge no good. I had my doubts when i looked at the pictures, but when i got there, i was blown away. But one of the rooms had mold.

We had a very large group of 30 people, but everyone enjoyed their stay. There are 5 rooms in each unit and one of the rooms has a crawl in room attached to it, so younger or smaller people can sleep in there. The king bedrooms were huge! The entire lodge was very clean and tidy. It even has a separate games room so kids can play as loud and as late as they want without disturbing anyone!

Rich was very helpful and provided all the linen and towels, even toilet paper and paper towels. Because we had such a huge group, he had to drive down to kamloops to buy more supplies for us, but was more than willing. Rich even gave us a great deal renting the lodge! It came up to only $70 a person! Best of all, our furry friends can come too, free of charge!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
1.1 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coast Sundance Lodge
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heffley Boutique Inn
Heffley Boutique Inn
#6 of 7 in Sun Peaks
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Lodge
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
131 reviews
16.1 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Lair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Lair Lodge

Address: 1301 Burfield Dr, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sun Peaks
Price Range: $161 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing