We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't really like”
Review of Black Garlic - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Garlic
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't really like”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Unfortunately we have not had a good meal here. The meals took a long time to come out and where a little on the oily side.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FourSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Actually went in early April 2012”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant was still fairly new when we went but we were not disappointed. It had come recommended to us by some local employees. It's a nice change from the usual roadhouse fare.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jambo_Lambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the worst dining experience ever”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place looked like it would be good but it was really having a bad night when we went there. Our waitress was really nice, but they were extremely under-staffed. Our meals took ages to arrive, and when they did not one of our party of four was happy. My Pad Thai was literally just a large bowl of heavy noodles with tofu and a lot of dark, salty sauce poured all over it (tasted like straight soy sauce) - no shrimp, no egg. It was awful!! Felt sorry for our waitress who did her best to try to cover up for a sub-standard performance from the kitchen. Definitely won't be returning!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank melissa_broadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited this place twice. The first time It was the waitress' second day so service was a bit slow. However she was polite and frIendly. The food was a nice change from the other restaurants' "everything with fries!" menus, but a little overpriced. We decided to go back there on our last night but were disappointed. Our starters came out in 3 batches, so some of us had finished by the time the others got theirs. The waitress spilled a pitcher of iced water over the table & 3 of us followed by a bottle of beer!! One main had to be sent back because it wasn't cooked through and was cold so the rest of us had nearly finished by the time it was replaced. No allowance was made for this on the bill, and we were still expected to tip for the service!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average - to disappointing”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a dinner in Black Garlic - We ordered some appetizers and 2 main courses. The main courses were so disappointing. We had the Pad Thai and the Laksa... The Laksa was a bowl of white flat noodles, and no broth - no protein. and to our taste - no spice. The Pad Thai was average - but as a combination our experience was pretty flat.

The staff were polite and attentive

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigAlAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Garlic also viewed

Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing