We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable breakfast, partly because half of it wasn't there!”

Cahilty Creek Bar and Grill
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Sun Peaks
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Your choice for all your dining needs in Sun Peaks, conveniently located slopeside off the gentle giant ski run.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Unremarkable breakfast, partly because half of it wasn't there!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This was another place (besides Black Garlic and Powderhounds) that came recommended. I looked in for dinner but the place was bustling and I went elsewhere, but tried again the next morning.

Really nice server, quick on the draw to note my dietary needs. I ordered an omelette, and she reported back that the hash browns were coated in flour, so not ok for me, nor was the toast (gluten intolerant). Funny they had no alternates, as every supermarket now carries rice bread or some other gluten free alternate.

Anyway, I just said to substitute with something else. Usually this means a side of fruit with yoghourt, or rice and beans or....

In this case, the omelette arrived with a twist of orange and two thin slices of tomato. So the kitchen response to the small challenge was to just remove half the dish!

Not a bad omelette, though cooked up so fast the innards were barely warm- the onion still raw.

The bill- $18.50 with a cup of coffee. No discount, no apology. This was the third meal in a row I felt pretty ripped. What IS it about the restaurants at Sun Peaks?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelly d, Owner at Cahilty Creek Bar and Grill, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Sorry your visit was not as great as it could be. We appreciate all your feedback. Our new menus moving forward are going to have many more gluten free options including pizza shells, burger buns and we have gluten free toast available to go with breakfast. Thank you for your visit and your feedback.

Kelly Dye
Cahilty Creek Bar and Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    76
    37
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely people!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

The cahilty creek is by far the friendliest restaurant in sunpeaks,the staff are great fun and very attentive. The food is great too,breakfasts are tasty and plentiful with a good variety. The soup specials are amazing,fresh and flavoursome as is the rest of the menu. The sweet menu is fantastic too. All in all a great place with great attitude whether you're having breakfast, a full on meal or just a few drinks! Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank DJL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainb0wtraveler
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Apple Strudel is the BOMB!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Save room for dessert because you must have the apple strudel! It was the highlight of our meal. We had the local draft honey lager Cariboo beer ($5.50), the small caesar salad ($4.95), a pork tenderloin ($19.95) and the seafood paella ($19.95). Paella was very tasty and the shrimp was perfectly cooked along with the mussels. The pork tenderloin was meh....not something we'd order again. It was dry and tasteless and needed something - not sure what.

Our friends had the Prawn Penne ($16.50) and the Chicken/Sausage Paella ($19.95). The paella was again excellent, whereas the penne was average -- it was okay in its cream sauce but missing something savory -- perhaps it needs more garlic and more flavor. The portions are generous - as a couple, we could have shared a large salad along with the paella and still bring home leftovers. The paella will be for our breakfast tomorrow.

Apple strudel - you need to order that with ice cream. Comes piping hot on a bed of whipped cream and the ice cream comes in a separate bowl. Good to share with others since it was a nice sized portion and we were pretty full as we hadn't saved room for dessert.

Poor waitstaff -- was the bartender AND the server but seemed to do very well with a restaurant that was over half full on this last week in March.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaines
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“slope side ease”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The ease of getting in and out for a meal was a cinch. We enjoyed our lunches and were able to get out quickly to enjoy the afternoon skiing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ar1ns0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

On our recent trip to sun peaks we ate several times at cahilty creek and were never disaspointed. Friendly staff and good value. Ski in and out for lunch. Great homemade burgers and soup. For dinner the ribs and pizzas are a must try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertwhittingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cahilty Creek Bar and Grill also viewed

Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Cahilty Creek Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing