We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended - not sure why”
Review of Powder Hounds

Powder Hounds
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Sun Peaks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Recommended - not sure why”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We asked a few locals working around Sun Peaks where to find a good meal - not sure why 3 people suggested Powder Hounds. I had the Drunken Prawns which had absolutely no taste whatsoever and my Stroganoff was uninteresting - where were the mushrooms??? My husband had a schnitzel dish. The red cabbage was very good, but that was kind of it. As my dad would say, it would pass with a push but we found other places that were much better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank madmaxthebabycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    100
    36
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful German food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just had the early dinner special The Hunter Schnitzel YUUUUUMMMM. Just as good as the last time I had it in Stuttsgard. Restaurant is clean lovely decor and personable waitress. You gotta have dinner here if you are ever in Sun Peaks BC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Sun Peaks is a challenge in the summer because it can be a little slow in town and restaurants so the "atmosphere" can be somewhat average. Got a great night tonight with a full house at the Powder Hounds. Lively environment and went for an interesting selection on the menu. If you want something different, try the pepper and quinoa with guacamoli. Great selection on the menu, from burgers and fish and chips (looked great) to more traditional meals. Staff freindly and quick. All round a very enjoyable evening. Try it! In peak times reservations are recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMax555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in Sun Peaks in the summer so it wasn't very busy. We sat outside both times we went and had a great time. The service was great and the environment cozy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serenity8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good tasty food and great music”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Choices were great, food rustic and great flavours. Waiting staff friendly, welcoming and knowledgible. Would return again but maybe when it was a bit busier which would provide more atmosphere. Great background music !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder Hounds also viewed

Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
Sun Peaks, British Columbia
 

Been to Powder Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing