We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in a town with limited choice”

Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Smithers
Cuisines: Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A place as unique as the people behind it, the Alpenhorn invites you to be our guest, where friends meet in a casual dining and pub environment.With a locally crafted menu, a hand picked wine list and long line up of specialty beers and other fine libations, we practice what we preach – follow your own path, make good friends along the way and have fun …. Along with local characters and a staff that delivers legendary service, this is your home away from home. Join us for an experience you won’t soon forget.
Stevenage
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good choice in a town with limited choice”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife & I ate there twice in August 2012. Smithers has limited choice & our chosen restaurant for the second night was shut
The main bar area is quite dark with several large TVs showing sports - The Olympics were on at the time. We sat outside in a pleasant terrace area.
The service was quick & attentive.
We started with spring rolls on both occasions which were not fatty & tasted really good.
For the main on the first occasion we both had the pork chop which turned out to be smoked bacon chop - not really to our taste. This was served with pieces of apple, mashed potato & a selection of very lightly stir fried vegetables. The composition of the vegetables was random & my wife was unhappy at getting 50% onion & no broccoli.
We had fried fish on the second visit which was fine.
The sweet course on the first visit was the daily special & was awful. Chocolate deep fried cheesecake (spring roll in reality) served with ice cream & raspberry coulis. All too sweet yet  bland. It did not look at all appetising when the chocolate sauce ran out of the rolls.
The drinks were fine, I had a dark beer & then we both had wine which was served in a variety of portion sizes.
The bill was about C$100 before tip - not outstanding value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuggyduggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    84
    35
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stopped here for lunch and a beer. Excellent beer selection. The food was surprisingly good, well above standard pub fare. Atmosphere is warm and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeminiDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWFUL FOOD, AWFUL SERVICE”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to the Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar for lunch with my boyfriend, ordered the Veggie Panini (Which was absolutely disgusting, and inedible). After sending it back and ordering a salad, the waitress gave me attitude and tried to charge us for the panini that I didn't eat. When we asked her why, she said, "Since there was nothing wrong with it, you still have to pay." I advised her that NO restaurant will make you pay for an unsatisfactory or disgusting meal, and she argued that some do. THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT. The quality of the food was definitely reflected in the service. Will never eat there again, do not recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“part pub part bar= great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located conviniently on Main street, this restaurant provides a nice atmosphere, with a beautiful outdoor space in the summer. the food can be a little unpredictable from average to very good. they offer a wide variety of dishes, not only bar food. the service is generally very good. and yes you can bring your kids. the prices are a bit on the steep side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

this was my 4th visit and it was also the poorest dining experience. staff were short-handed so service was slow. staff was friendly but not fully conversant of all the offerings at hand. the food was unlike other dishes i have ordered - ordinary.

the place is delightfully decorated and offers a typical pub-style ambiance and environment.

will return based on previous visits, but wodl not basedon last experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KhweziMbolekwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar also viewed

Smithers, British Columbia
Smithers, British Columbia
 
Smithers, British Columbia
 

Been to Alpenhorn Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing