We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”
Review of Stork Nest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stork Nest Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is your place if you want a good room and a decent breakfast. Nothing fancy. Quiet, family oriented. Probably not the best place for the party crowd as the rooms aren't exactly soundproof and with enough families staying there, your decision to carry the party into your room will be met with the wrath of a mother whose child you've just woken. Staff are always nice. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 146 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was a quick overnight stay in December, when it is COLD in Smithers. The room was basic, but had good heat and nice sheets & towels. A heat lamp in the bathroom but no hairdryer (might have been available on request, but the heat lamp was sufficient for my short locks).
Nice hot breakfast, made to order eggs and ham plus juice, coffee toast etc.
Very friendly staff who made me feel most welcome.

Room Tip: My room on the second floor was warm and quiet, but had no elevator. I would stay in the same room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Came back to the Storks Nest after good experience last year. The Inn has character and the team are great. Collected from the airport very quickly after calling. Warm welcome on a very wet night. If you want "corporate" and modern, this may not be your bag, but it is personal and warm, breakfast is cooked to order, and if you are a fisherman, you will get all the local news and gossip very quickly! Beds comfortable, shower good. No lift, so if you have lots of bags ask for a room close to reception. I love the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drphilgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

An old inn that is still clean and comfortable although it does have some eclectic decor & design - our room had a spa tub in the main room and what looked like a walled-in window behind it while the main bathroom had a tub & shower combo but was very small. Friendly staff gave us information about Smithers and places to eat. The website and brochure, however, are misleading - the inn is not back by beautiful mountains. The mountains are in the other direction so if the setting is important to you, don't expect mountain views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very clean rooms, friendly staff. Convenient location and very nice breakfast included. Drawback was expense plus the town has a 15% room tax. Beds were not of the cloud-like version and pillows chipped foam. Thus......average rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here with no reservation. The staff were very friendly. The hotel is older but very well maintained and clean. Nice breakfast in the morning. Will be back. Great place for x country skiers as the manager is involve with skiing in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeniorDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived late and the front desk service was very good. Even though the hotel is a bit older it was very comfortable and the air-conditioner worked well. It was clean and quiet. There were signs in the rooms to respect other guests and have your TV volume low after 10 pm. The hot breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, etc. I would definitely come back and recommend.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs request a first floor room as there isn't an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smithers hotels
0.6 mi away
Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
#2 of 10 in Smithers
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Capri Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Smithers
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aspen Inn & Suites
Aspen Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Smithers
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Smithers
Sandman Inn Smithers
#9 of 10 in Smithers
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireweed Motel
Fireweed Motel
#5 of 10 in Smithers
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain View Motel
#6 of 10 in Smithers
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stork Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Nest Inn

Address: 1485 Main St, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Price Range: $90 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stork Nest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide our guests with the finest personal service and a good night's sleep. Awake every morning to our famous free full menu breakfast. Located in the beautiful mountain town of Smithers, BC we are within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and nightly entertainment. Our staff can provide information on hiking, paddling, fishing and skiing. All rooms are non-smoking,clean and quiet. The beds are comfy with warm duvets, each room has a large flat screen HDTV, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and phone. We hope the Stork Nest Inn will be your base camp to adventure in Northern BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Stork Nest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stork Nest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing