We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just stayed here on a ski and stay package. Bought their top package that gave us their "Spirit of the North" suite and included a bottle of wine, cheese platter, ski passes for two days and gift certs for the restaurant. We added our teenage daughter to the package and was amazed at how little they charged us to add the additional person. The hotel staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. I'd definitely stay here again. With the ski and stay they gave us a late checkout which allowed us to come down from the ski hill, change, shower, and freshen up before heading for home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgstewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 250 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here for two nights mid-March on business. I am very fussy about hotels - if I can't get a decent night's sleep, I am not a happy camper!

That said, I slept really well. Surprisingly well, actually. My bed was clean (I always check under the sheets and btwn the mattress & box spring and under the covers before I use a bed) as was the rest of the room other than an older, stained carpet. There wasn't much noise from the highway or parking lot even though my room was on the ground floor, facing the highway and parking lot. Not a lot of other noise, either. The room seemed relatively sound proof as far as hotel rooms go. I like that they use a comforter rather than the traditional polyester bedspread.

My room didn't have a mini-fridge and when I mentioned it they wheeled one to my room within 15 minutes. A microwave is an additional $10 per night.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Martin at the front desk was quiet but very helpful.

I visited the restaurant attached to the hotel, and it had great service and good food - but VERY pricey. I had a glass of wine, a steak sandwich and a slice of cheesecake and it was $50.

I used the gym - it's tiny. It has a rowing machine, an elliptical, a treadmill and a recumbent bike and a one-person sauna. VERY little floor room, and no weights. There were two tiny pilates balls that needed to be inflated more. Also, no weights.

Overall, I was happy with my stay - mostly because I slept well which is the most important to me. If I come back to Smithers I will certainly stay here again, though I won't return to the restaurant as it's just too pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I've spent many nights at the lodge and I have never had a single complaint. The food is great, the staff are friendly, there is a beer store attached, and there is a free shuttle to the airport. I even had my dog with me on one trip. Today they went above and beyond by offering to keep my smoked salmon in the freezer. I will never stay anywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas break from school. The staff was great, the rooms clean and well maintained. They have obviously spent some money lately upgrading the place which is nice to see. The only addition to the room that might have been nice would have a fridge. Nice to keep the drinks cold. and we had some snack items we wanted to take up the mountain that could have used refrigeration. I am sure that if had asked they would have found a way to manage however due to the cold weather we improvised and kept those items in the truck. They had a good rate especially when bundled with the passes for the mountain. We will stay here again.
The restaurant and the bar were excellent, good service, very good food. And major bonus they were the only place open Christmas Day! We were very glad to be able to find a meal that day.
We did use the laundry, we did not use the fitness room but nice to know it was available.
We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The ground floor room got a little noisy as the hotel filled up as we had little kids running around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was easy to find, clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well set up. They have a Keureg coffee machine with 3 pods in each room. AWESOME!!!!! Thank you for the outstanding stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormy663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have stayed here frequently over the last two years, always staying for 2 weeks at a time. I have always found the rooms comfortable and quiet with friendly and helpful staff. With a 24 hr exercise room and an on site laundry facility long stays are easy. The real gem though is the restaurant Zoers, always serving refreshingly different specials and varied selection of regulars it's hard to get tired of the menu. Always recommend this facility to any who ask me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris76415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Really enjoyed my experience at the HBL last week; I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and booked a meeting room. The staff were very nice and helpful, always willing to do whatever they can to assist. Food was pretty good, awesome cole slaw and desserts. I would definitely recommend this place to book meetings; the renovated rooms are very nice and spacious

Room Tip: the renovated rooms are very spacious; and nearly all the rooms have a view of a mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smithers hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Inn & Suites
Aspen Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Smithers
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stork Nest Inn
Stork Nest Inn
#4 of 10 in Smithers
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Smithers
Sandman Inn Smithers
#9 of 10 in Smithers
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Capri Motor Inn
Capri Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Smithers
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smithers Guesthouse
Smithers Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Smithers
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fireweed Motel
Fireweed Motel
#5 of 10 in Smithers
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge

Address: 3251 16 Hwy E, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Price Range: $102 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the majestic mountains of the beautiful Bulkley Valley, first-class hospitality and a warm welcome await you at Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge in Smithers, BC. A full-service lodge offering a variety of guestrooms and suites with convention and meeting facilities to meet all your needs. Enjoy Smithers' dining at its finest with Noir Kitchen and Bar, and Don Cherry's Sports Grill. Extensive catering menus are tailored to satisfy the demands of any special event. Located minutes from downtown shops and restaurants, Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge boasts historic walking tours, picturesque hiking trails, outstanding mountain biking, scenic golfing and all the amazing attractions of the Bulkley Valley on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Bay Hotel Smithers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing