We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with nice spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good hotel with nice spacious rooms”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On our way to Prince Rupert, this hotel was a good stopover. Desk and restaurant staff friendly and helpfull. The rooms are spacious, have a lot of daylight, coffee and tea and fridge in the room. The quality of the food was very good and also pricing was very correct $$. I wil stay here again; the only drawback was NO airconditioning. Even mid july the room was quit warm to go to sleep.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingwe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    108
    38
    9
    0
See reviews for
37
73
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mission City, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Clean bright room. 2 queen beds very comfortable, nice bedding. Has fridge, TV, 4 reading lamps. Very helpful front end staff. Good food and good service. No problem with WiFi. About 5 min from town center by car. Stayed 2 days. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73wunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is well run, feels a little impersonal. Much bigger than other hotels in Smithers, feels more like a chain hotel. Rooms are average size, darker carpet and furnishings make the rooms feel dark, chintzy bedspread. Bed was comfy, rooms clean, feels comfortable, no probs there, happy to stay anytime. Weak wifi. Great restaurant downstairs boosts this hotel as a place to stay, otherwise it would be average. Location isn't great - towards edge of town so not practical to walk anywhere if you don't want to drive. Overall, a well run and smart hotel, just I prefer smaller, brighter places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HinBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Older established hotel with updating to a comfortable level. Front desk staff very responsive, efficient and accommodating. Comfortable beds and very clean with a good restaurant available and accessible business area . You can't beat the view of the mountains Too bad they dont have aeroplan points

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubaprinces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valemount, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Hudson Bay Lodge recently after flying out from a long season at a remote fishing lodge on the Sustut River. The company kindly put us up at Hudson Bay Lodge.....and thank god they did!
While we were having our post season dinner staff party, I left my darling little dog in the hotel room with her best buddy; no problem right? Wrong. It appeared my darling pooch was still in 'bush' mode and tried to dig her way to freedom under the hotel room door. Bless her cotton socks its not her fault, however I was faced with a horrific hole in a rather expensive looking carpet in our hotel pet room.
We informed the hotel staff (Bonni and her assistants). One lovely lady gave us an initial quote of $2000 to get it fixed! YUP $2000!!! Bang there goes a good chunk of our hard earned season's money down the drain!! We were devastated!!

However, super manager BONNI!! came to our rescue and marched down to the carpet store fishing through there pieces of carpet knowing they had a small patch somewhere! She negotiated with them driving a hard bargain for us all out of the goodness of her heart. She didn't have to do anything for us and we would have had to pay $2000 for a piece of carpet the size of a DVD! Due to Bonni's efforts and negotiating we only had to pay $400!!!! YES $400!!
We were overwhelmed with happiness and tears of joy. We left the Hudson Bay Lodge with a huge feeling of relief and happiness knowing that there are people like Bonni in the world and the Hudson Bay staff made our stay one of the best.

Thank you so much for your heroic efforts, we really appreciate it and will ONLY be staying with HBL in Smithers in the future.

HUDSON BAY LODGE is the BEST!

Thank you

Angela & Eric & Storm - our darling pooch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angek42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stay here when I'm in Smithers for work. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I like that there are comforters on the beds. The WiFi was working well the last time I was there, and I've always found it easy to get breakfast in the restaurant. The hotel is easy to find and access to off the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here two nights 10 days apart. The rooms was clean, quiet and large. There was a real shortage of plug ins, though. This can be inconvenient when you need to charge laptop, phones, etc. The staff was helpful. The price was reasonable at $100 per night. This stay was a jumping off and returning back place for a hunting trip. We could leave our vehicle in their back lot (which did have view from hotel) and we felt it was safe to leave it there. And it was. We would stay here again, but would bring a power strip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jananb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smithers hotels
0.6 mi away
Stork Nest Inn
Stork Nest Inn
#4 of 10 in Smithers
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen Inn & Suites
Aspen Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Smithers
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandman Inn Smithers
Sandman Inn Smithers
#9 of 10 in Smithers
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Capri Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Smithers
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fireweed Motel
Fireweed Motel
#5 of 10 in Smithers
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain View Motel
#7 of 10 in Smithers
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge

Property: Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
Address: 3251 16 Hwy E, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the majestic mountains of the beautiful Bulkley Valley, first-class hospitality and a warm welcome await you at Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge in Smithers, BC. A full-service lodge offering a variety of guestrooms and suites with convention and meeting facilities to meet all your needs. Enjoy Smithers' dining at its finest with the West Coast Grill and Don Cherry's Sports Grill. Extensive catering menus are tailored to satisfy the demands of any special event. Located minutes from downtown shops and restaurants, Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge boasts historic walking tours, picturesque hiking trails, outstanding mountain biking, scenic golfing and all the amazing attractions of the Bulkley Valley on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Bay Hotel Smithers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing