We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing building”
Review of Logpile Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smithers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Logpile Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Certificate of Excellence
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Logpile lodge is built by Barbara and Christoph themselves. Their love for nature can be seen in the structure of the lodge and the materials they used. You are realy surrounded by nature: we've seen a blackbear at the back of our room. Very comfortable and very clean. The common area with a fire place is quiet and cosy! Breakfast a real treat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisIngeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Everything was OK but I would have expected proper 'bath' sized towels for the price we paid. The ones we got where too small, and a bit dubious in terms of there cleanliness. Otherwise a lovely place

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L, Owner at Logpile Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
We exchange the towels, facecloth and hand towel every day - so the guests have a clean dry set every day. If there should ever be an oversight on our part and the guest approaches us we would do everything to set it right - but to this day the only comments we did get were positive - especially concerning cleanliness.
I am sorry you didn't feel the same way - if there was a problem I would have attended to it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
321 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This must be the best place to stay in Smithers!

We have been fortunate to stay in some really lovely and luxurious hotels over the years but this place ranks up with the best of them.

The hosts (Barbara and Christoph) are great and give 100% attention to detail and quality in whatever they do. The rooms are rustic (it is an enormous log cabin after all so what would you expect) but they are 100% clean and comfortable with matching bathrooms, balconies and views.

The evening meals (that must be booked in advance) are fantastic - the food is both really fresh and cooked to perfection and the breakfasts are to die for as everything is really fresh and wholesome.

Really loved this place and certainly want to return if we can!

Amazingly this was the cheapest place that we stayed in during our 17 day fly drive holiday in Canada and was certainly the best.

Do your very best to stay here - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona, british columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Logpile is definitely the place to stay, and Smithers is a very sweet little outdoorsy town - bookstores, toy stores, outdoor shops, good restaurants.
The lodge is beautiful, down to the last small detail - we love the warm log feeling and the quiet, understated but elegant rooms with balconies looking over the aspen groves on the property. It is always immaculate.
The hosts are very gracious, welcome us like old friends and have good tips on exploring the area.
The breakfasts (included in a very reasonable price) are better than 5 star. If you are lucky enough to book when they are serving dinner, DO IT - they are fantastic cooks.
It's a great home base to explore the trails and native peoples' cultural sites. We especially enjoyed Ksan First Nations village in Hazelton. We consider it a welcome destination on the way to northern BC or the coast.
Some might not like the lack of motel type car access, but we appreciate the absence of cars and concrete and don't mind unloading our bags at the entrance, parking a bit below the lodge and walking 3 minutes back up through the wildflowers.

Room Tip: all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elderlyones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We really recommend the Logpile Lodge very much: You will find the best combination of Canadian hospitality and Swiss quality!
The Logpile Lodge is situated outside Smithers and is very quiet – a great place to relax, enjoy the view and hike. Barbara and Chris will provide all the necessary information regarding hiking tours.
The spacious rooms are furnished with love and good taste.
And: Best breakfast ever – you can choose between several delicious freshly prepared meals.
I am sure you will enjoy!!! We definitely hope to come back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeLuBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Nice, quiet, good food, quiet, spotlessly clean, quiet. Oh, did I mention that it was quiet?
Hosts were gracious; beds were great. We found Smithers to be an interesting, out-of-the way town. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John & Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Smithers is a very beautiful area of British Columbia (and that says a lot). The Logpile Lodge is located only 5-10 minutes away from the town, but you feel like you’re on the edge of wilderness. You don’t see or hear anything but nature. They could have called the town “Little Switzerland”. The scenery of the mountains and forests surrounding the valley is absolutely gorgeous. You don’t get views like that staying in the downtown accommodations along Yellowhead Highway 16.

Barbara and Chris were wonderful hosts. They made great recommendations on where to go and what to do. The lodge and property are beautiful. We stayed in the “O” room which has 2 private balconies and highly recommend it. Every day we’d watch the wildlife from our room. The breakfast choices were numerous and delicious. We were also lucky enough to be there for their weekend buffet dinner. The food was amazing (and reasonable too). You know it’s good when mostly locals show up.

We spent several days exploring the area. There’s plenty to see and do. We saw lots of wildlife everywhere we went either from the car or on foot. We hiked to the twin waterfalls on Hudson Bay Mtn, explored Babine Mtn. Provincial Park, and went horseback riding. We also love to go “off the beaten track”, and there were many well-maintained forestry service dirt roads that took us to several beautiful lakes in the middle of nowhere.

Between our time in Prince Rupert and then Smithers, we had a great time and saw jaw-dropping scenery. We highly recommend staying at the Logpile Lodge as your base for exploring this beautiful area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McJagels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smithers hotels
3.4 mi away
Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
Prestige Hudson Bay Lodge
#1 of 10 in Smithers
203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Stork Nest Inn
Stork Nest Inn
#4 of 10 in Smithers
133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aspen Inn & Suites
Aspen Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Smithers
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sandman Inn Smithers
Sandman Inn Smithers
#9 of 10 in Smithers
82 reviews
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
Capri Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Smithers
20 reviews
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
Mountain View Motel
#7 of 10 in Smithers
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logpile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logpile Lodge

Property: Logpile Lodge
Address: 3105 McCabe Rd, Smithers, British Columbia VOJ 2N7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logpile Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a beautiful view over the Bulkley Valley and the mountains the Logpile Lodge sits on a little hill, only 10 min. away from the lively town of Smithers and 10 min. away from the beautiful Babine Mountain Provincial.An insider tip for outdoor enthusiasts and those who love peace and quiet - and a glas of wine on the balcony.There is a common room with fireplace and an extensive library and games.No phones or TVs in the rooms.A full cooked breakfast prepared to your liking gets you started in the morning, whether it's for work or play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing