We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fries.”

Joe Schmucks Roadhouse
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Sicamous
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our fully licensed family restaurant has delicious homemade meals, daily specials, great service and a cozy atmosphere. Alpine Style Motel, in Sicamous BC. 3.5 Star accommodations close to Shuswap Lake and Mara Lake. Campground with Full Service and Non Serviced Sites and Tenting. Joe's is located on the Trans-Canada Hwy, mid way between Calgary and Vancouver, beside Tim Hortons. The Eagle River runs through our backyard. 4 Season accommodations. Perfect for Sledding, Boating, Golfing, Biking vacations, Business trips or visiting family and friends. Joe's is a great place to come home to. Pets stay free. Perfect for Day Trips - Video Monitored Parking. Vacation Packages available.
Peers
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fries.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This place has some of the best french fries that I have ever had. The chicken wings were great as well. Service was very good and I would return to this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton H, General Manager at Joe Schmucks Roadhouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for the feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed the home-cut fries, and our specialty wings! Hope to see you on your next trip through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    17
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't let the name fool you - excellent food and service!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Fantastic joint by the side of the highway, with tasty down-home food, friendly service and fun decor. Check this out whether you're on your way through Sicamous or are staying a while.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton H, General Manager at Joe Schmucks Roadhouse, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Lanabee,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our homemade cooking and professional down to earth service. We hope to see you on your next trip from the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant as we wanted a hot breakfast. We were certainly pleased with the food and the service! I ordered a ham and cheese omelette and requested the addition of onions - no problem. It was perfectly cooked and delicious. Our waitress was very attentive and the coffee was great. Will definitely return when staying in Sicamous!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton H, Manager at Joe Schmucks Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great omelette and enjoyed the atmosphere and service. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner great! Breakfast with Smokers!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our experience at Joe Schmucks was great on our last trip through and dinner was great again on this last visit. Dinner was wonderful last night - tasty, a generous portion, and pleasantly presented and served. Please, we want to buy the Lemon Thyme salad dressing!!!! Yummmmmy!

However, we were a little disappointed in our breakfast experience this morning on the patio. Just as we were enjoying our lovely breakfast on such a beautiful morning - pan fries a little overdone but otherwise yummy - some smokers chose the table directly beside us - didn’t realize that this was still allowed. Our server was so busy with a very large (and demanding) crowd that we did not want to trouble her to move us indoors. Although we did not linger over our coffee because of the smoke, we truly do like the atmosphere at Joe’s and intend to visit again on our way through to the north ... at least we are now aware that smoking is allowed in the patio area and we will either move next time or sit indoors. Would be great if it was a non-smoking area though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DV199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton H, Manager at Joe Schmucks Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with Joe Schmucks Yes our Lemon Thyme Dressing is our house speciality dressing, but Im sure if you ask the chef when you are next bye, he would gladly share the recipe! Yes, smoking is allowed in the designated smoking deck area, as long as it remains a distance from the restaurant entrance. That said, we are reviewing limiting smoking to a smaller area on our patio. As you mentioned, we do of course offer a air conditioned dining room with a funky atmosphere to enjoy as well.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant is located just off the Trans Canada Highway on the eastern side of the town.
The facility has street appeal. However, the parking lot could use more pavement – when it’s raining. The interior is well decorated including the amusing plaques, clean and an aesthetically pleasing fireplace. The single waitress had difficulty severing the restaurant full of patrons. Two additional staff arrived a short time later.
The entree menu is limited solely to items that come off a grill. I had the Swiss Burger ($14.00). It was huge and scrumptious. My wife had the Halibut Burger ($13.00) and she had the same comments. The burgers are available with a salad, soup or French fries. We also enjoyed the gravy - $1.00 extra.
This restaurant is what you would expect from a grill. What surprises is the taste of the entries. We understand that everything is home made.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeLDee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton H, Manager at Joe Schmucks Roadhouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed our burgers, which are really what the Roadhouse specializes in! Happy to hear the clean comfy atmosphere, and great customer service were to your liking. We hope to see you on your next trip through Sicamous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Schmucks Roadhouse also viewed

Sicamous, British Columbia
 
Sicamous, British Columbia
Sicamous, British Columbia
 

Been to Joe Schmucks Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing