We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, but a bit hot and noisy”
Review of Artist's House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sicamous
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artist's House B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Sicamous B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot, but a bit hot and noisy”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed upstairs in the orange room. The bed was comfortable with very soft sheets. We would have slept very well had it not been for the trains passing by right beside the house. The train tracks are extremely close by, and several trains went by in the night, disturbing our sleep. Plus, because the house doesn't have air conditioning, we had to have the windows open to cool the small, elevated room, which made the noise worse. Thankfully, there was a fan.

Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. The house is gorgeous, beautifully decorated with art by the host as well as many antiques and collectibles. And the breakfast was delicious and ample, and it was great to eat it on the deck overlooking the lake.

I'm not sure that I'd return because of the noise and warmth, but we enjoyed our stay all the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
A fair review , I do appreciate your comments. What I have learned from you is to screen the needs of my guests more closely. The 'orange' room , although it is some people's first pick can be hot and noisy on a busy hot summer evening.
There are two other rooms that offer a different experience. The most popular 'green room' is cool and serene as it faces east into the woods and has an air conditioner and en suite bath. If the 'green room' was available I would have suggested that room for you.
As all BnB's are unique the Artist' House is unique on many levels.It is the executive home of the former honorable Ralph Bruhn an entrepreneur and member of parliament from 1922-1941. It has history I like to share.
The cozy Salmon colored ' Orange room' is a true heritage room. The foundation wall of the CP Sicamous Hotel is still in mint condition on the waters edge below down the mountain hillside and
over the tracks. the train can still be seen snaking around the waters edge, the silloettes of the mountains separating the different arms of the lake remain as it was, the old structures of a time in the past are gone.
If you venture this way again I would love you to try a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oudenaarde
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We loved our stay with Victoria - she makes you feel at home and serves a wonderful breakfast with homemade products - very tasteful ! beautiful setting with breathtaking lakeviews , only negative point is the railroad that passes beneath, just at the lakefront. can be a problem for those who aren't used to any noise at night. Otherwise an adress and hostess to recommend to any traveller !

Room Tip: we stayed in the green room,which was to our satisfaction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudyOudenaarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Great to meet you and be able to share my magical space.
victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Artists House B&B is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in the "Green Room" and not only was it meticulously clean, it was very comfortable. The attention to detail was striking. The patio area overlooks the lake and is perfect for a couple of drinks as the sun sets. The breakfast was delicious and ENORMOUS! The homemade scones were especially delightful. Would (and am) recommending it to anyone who is in the area and would happily stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beginthetwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria S, Owner at Artist's House B&B, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Wonderful! Thank you for finding 'the Artist's House BnB ' and taking the time to write about your experience. I am glad to hear that you noticed the details as I have such joy creating what I hope is a beautiful space. Looking forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in this B & B for one night at the end of July 2011. We stayed in the "Green Room". This spot is very cozy with a beautiful view of the lake as you sit in the dining room. Very friendly atmosphere. Victoria makes you feel completely relaxed and at home. Our room and private bath were great and very clean. This home is decorated with much of Victoria's art which made it very interesting and enjoyable for us. Breakfast was delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Victoria's B &B again if we were travelling in the area. We can strongly recommend this B & B to travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandrose1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Having arrived after a long day's driving the welcome could not have been more friendly. I was shown to my room and offered tea and scones. Any questions I had about visiting places in the area were met with helpful local knowledge and a range of brochures and books.

The location cannot be faulted. The views are magnificent and the area incredibly peaceful. I would highly recommend this b and b to couples or single travellers looking for a peaceful respite.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Defrgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Artist House B&B overlooks the beautiful Shushap Lake. Its a little harder to find your way down the squiggly road but when you arrive, the view is pricelss. Victoria is a wonderful host and accomodations are very comfortable in this old historic building (formerly the train station). You do however have the train noise from time to time.(the only drawback).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitxcda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sicamous
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
14.8 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
881 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sundog Bed & Breakfast
Sundog Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Sicamous
18 reviews
15.2 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist's House B&B

Property: Artist's House B&B
Address: 20 Bruhn Road | Box 1053, Sicamous, British Columbia V0E 2V0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sicamous
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sicamous
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite heritage home with inspiring Shuswap Lake views in an artsy environment. Breakfast, a feast for the eyes and taste buds, is served over a panoramic Shuswap Lake view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing