We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waited 10 minutes for a waitress to order a $7.00 pint”
Review of Lighthouse Pub

Lighthouse Pub
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Sechelt
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“waited 10 minutes for a waitress to order a $7.00 pint”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been going to the lighthouse a couple of times a month for about 3 years. The service has always been unpredictable but today was crazy. I walked in alone and waited for a waitress to take my order. 4 different servers walked right by me and none offered to take my order. In frustration I walked out, no one even noticed. Just as well I guess as the price of a pint of beer is now over $7.00 and the new menu isn't as good as the old one. The trouble is there are not many places to go for a pint in Sechelt, so I guess the competition will get more of my business. By the way I walked into the competition after leaving the Lighthouse and I got my favourite beer delivered to my seat in under a minute by a waitress with a huge smile and welcome. And it was cheaper. Lighthouse what's happened to you?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearthmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    223
    96
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch Stop”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were in the area for a few days and visited this pub for lunch one afternoon. Menu is typical pub fare and the quality was good. Prices were reasonable and they have a wonderful patio overlooking the harbour area which is fantastic to sit on if the weather is cooperating. We'd go back here again in the area....definitely worth a visit!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank berlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just pub food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been here 2 nights running probably because has great view and easy to find when you are a tourist. Will not be going again tonight as the menu is boring and everything seems to be covered in garlic. Tartar sauce in the U.K. does not have garlic in. Overall impression is that it is a locals pub to watch sport on tv and listen to rubbish music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soups_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What Happened to Our Pub?!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We always go the The Lighthouse for a nice meal and the gorgeous view. Also, as my husband has celiac we can always depend on him getting a good GF meal and they even have GF pizza. We eat there 1-2 times a week but this past week we had not one but 3 horrible meals there. The 'new' menu is missing a lot of our favs and the edaname we always have was changed, dipping with a terrible sauce that had settled at the bottom of a chinesefood take out carton they now serve it in. The pods were overcooked, not lightly steamed as usual and the sauce was some sort of mystery sauce. My ribs were tough and dry. Took friends there next evening and they had the wings listed as GF but I have my doubts as hubby sick all night. Perhaps they don't know soya and worchester sauce both contain wheat? Potato salad i always have was heavy with mayo and not the usual they serve.

When we questioned the new menu and the poor quality of the food and just some really bad cooking we were told there was new management and new chef. Not good move to take over and change everything and they really need a new cook fast. Small town, news travels fast here. They've lost 2 regulars here as it's just too expensive to waste money on low quality food and then ruins your evening when the food is not good and poorly prepared.

Too bad as we like the atmosphere and the view but lots of good restaurants here also have a view. Check out Sirens by the Sea for one....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RomeoandJuliet1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch while the seaplanes come & go!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a delightful lunch at the Lighthouse Pub on Porpoise Bay. My husband chose the shrimp sandwich & I had their house specialty, smoked salmon chowder with herb bread. Wonderful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JColby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Pub also viewed

Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Lighthouse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing