We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water View makes it worthwhile”
Review of Lighthouse Pub

Lighthouse Pub
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Sechelt
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Water View makes it worthwhile”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Been here several times on and off when visiting Sechelt and now we're living here. Fantastic to visit when the weather cooperates. Sea planes landing, seals cavorting here and there, and a nice mix of clientele. Problem is that I find the food hit and miss. I've tried many menu items and really haven't found the one that says 'must have again'. Servers are friendly, but I find myself trying other places in search of excellent pub food. See for yourself . . .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WesternGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGS27, General Manager at Lighthouse Pub, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for the review! Our menu is an on-going project. We now have our Chef's Choice Menu after 5pm daily which offers 6 or so new items which we are testing for our regular menu... Give those a try and let us know how they are. You may be able to help us grow our existing menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    212
    91
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome little pub”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great spot! We stayed at a B&B and ate most of the rest of our meals at the pub. Good food, good prices, good service - not what I expected in Sechelt so a nice surprise.

The salmon chowder was to die for. The wings were good (although I prefer them a little bit crispier) and I'm still comparing pizza's to the Lighthouse pizza - they're almost worth the ferry ride!

Definitely worth going to!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dishylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGS27, General Manager at Lighthouse Pub, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your kind words... We are really proud of those pizzas! On your next visit, try our new Tuna Sliders - they are fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs to get in the 21st Centry”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is a fantastic venue and the service is great , but the food is from the dark ages . The trouble with places like this, is that have very little competition and they take it all for granted . The wine list is a bit of a joke, little choice and not much thought ! We had titanic nachos to start , clearly brought in guacamole , salsa out of a bottle. Its not a difficult dish but they got it so badly wrong , the rest of the meal not much better . Great venue but they need to start thinking about what they serve up as food. With a little effort this place could be a gold mine , not really sure why the owners to not take a bit more care with this place as it could very easily be the best place on the coast .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGS27, General Manager at Lighthouse Pub, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Really sorry to hear about your bad experience with the nachos. The nachos are a very popular item for us and we get great reviews on them all the time... I would hope that you let your server know so that your could be replaced or fixed. We are very serious about our food and menu at the Lighthouse Pub. Food remains 50% of our revenue which is very high for the pub industry.
Within the last year, we have renovated our entire kitchen at huge expense to further invest in our commitment to great food.

We've come a long way in the last few years. We aren't entirely satisfied with where we are yet either, that's why we are still working hard everyday to be better. We want to be the best place on the coast. There isn't another location like this anywhere. I feel confident that your next experience will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Scenery & Live Music”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lighthouse Pub (and adjoining Bucaneers Restaurant) is a great place to visit on a sunny summer day, as the view of the Bay is wonderful and there's lots of boats and floatplane traffic to keep you busy. They offer a great menu of burgers, wings and more traditional staples, like excellent french onion soup. The specials are always imaginative and excellent, and they stock a great variety of beer and wine.

On Thursdays and many weekends, they offer live music. Thursdays there's a duo (sometimes more) in Buccaneers performing great acoustic songs, often rooted in the distant past. Service is friendly and efficient and it's well worth the drive to get to Sechelt.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGS27, General Manager at Lighthouse Pub, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words... We really like the feel of the entertainment, but we need a regular clientel to make it all possible... Keep coming back and tell all your friends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in sechelt”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

the food was good reasonably priced good service awesome atmosphere. would definitely go back. best place in sechelt

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilynwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Pub also viewed

Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Lighthouse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing