We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to spend a long weekend with friends”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tuwanek Timbers

Welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!
Front deck Front Yard and our Zed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Welcome!
Front deck
Front Yard and our Zed
Kitchen - newly renovated!
Front room
Games area
Master bedroom
Main bathroom
Downstairs bedroom - queen
Third Bedroom - trundle is 2 single beds
Downstairs powder room
Back yard - hot tub & fire pit
Hot tub - seats 6
Fire pit - lots of seating
Tuwanek community
Lamb's Brook beach - a 2 minute walk from cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Karen M
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a long weekend with friends”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked the cottage to celebrate a milestone birthday with my girlfriends. There were 5 of us. This house is cosy and intimate, so make sure you know each other well! The weather was spectacular so the doors to the front and back were open which added a huge amount of space. Besides being super close to the ocean, the hot tub and fire pit were main reasons I rented the house and they were wonderful. I really liked the styling and thoughtful details in the house, like the deck with an extra high shelf where you can stand and enjoy a drink and look out into the forest and the towel rack by the hot tub with an umbrella on top to stop the rain. All good. Loved the place and would definitely go back. I even enjoyed the steep hills, good exercise! Thanks to Lori for all the great communications, before, during and after our stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thanks very much Karen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easy get-away from Vancouver for a couple of families”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very easy get-away from Vancouver. The cabin is clean, had everything we needed and was enough room for four adults and three kids (one of whom was a small baby). The hot tub was awesome. There’s a balcony and back deck that would be nice places to have meals outdoors when it is warmer, although it was a bit cold during our visit (early April). Lots of hummingbirds. The cabin is just across the road from beach access and there is some really nice, small kid-friendly forest walks just down the road at Hidden Groves (if you want to run there, it’s about 3km away along very hilly road, but the trails are beautiful/ easy for running).

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Thanks very much Julian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_K155...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great potential, not quite as pictured”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It's hard to describe our stay at this cabin. I'll start with the pros:
- GREAT response from the owners regarding any questions we had, and great directions, etc. provided shortly before our stay
- Lots of windows with lots of light
- Very well stocked kitchen
- Lots of blankets (a few members of our party did not realise they were tucked away in the chest)
- Laundry facilities
- Beautiful front deck that was great for sitting and having morning coffee
- The hot tub and fire pit in the back were amazing. Since the photos, they have added a privacy screen behind the hot tub where the neighbouring homes may overlook the property. This was very much appreciated!
- Canoe and kayak available for use was fantastic and unexpected
- Very close to beaches, as described on the website. We really liked the Purpoise Bay Provincial Park beach which was about a 4 minute drive. It was a beautiful view with great sand.
- Wifi and Telus TV was much appreciated
- Security deposit was returned EXTREMELY fast
- The neighbourhood dogs loved us and we loved them
Cons
- Spider problem, tons of spiders when we entered the building. Not just a normal amount you'd expect for a cabin on the ocean. We spent a lot of time checking every inch of the cabin for spiders (some were huge, some were normal) and had to get the shop vac out for several cases of large spider gatherings. We spoke to the owners about this issue and we were taken care of respectfully!
- Couches in the photos are not what are actually there - the couches there were actually very disappointing. Very old with stains likely just from prolonged use. We put blankets over them so we could feel comfortable sitting on them
- Sitting area in photos is not quite there...it's changed up a bit with a big record player (that you can plug your phone into which was actually great)
- The website promised a DVD player so we brought several movies with this in mind. When we sat down to watch them, we couldn't find the DVD player to save our lives. We looked through the very detailed cabin manual and it said it was located on the shelf under the TV. It was not.
- We weren't sure what to do with our garbage. It said not to leave it outside...but it also seemed that we weren't allowed to leave it in the building. We ended up taking it to a public dumpster before leaving Seschelt which was weird

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and fire pit area in the back yard
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thanks for your comments Miriah - we're sorry that you were disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slt92
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Cosy, well stocked cabin with a cherry on top.”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Tuwanek Timbers was a cosy, well stocked cabin ( no need to bring the kitchen sink). We loved eating el fresco on the front deck for all our meals. Lori and Lanny were prompt and courteous with their responses to all my questions. The back deck with the hot tub was the cherry on top of the sundae. It has a neat fire pit area with wood benches on either side (unfortunately there was a fire ban). Very private back deck. There are outside speakers provided for the stereo so you can listen to music while "hot tubbin" it! It would be a cosy place to stay in the winter months with the wood stove and the hot tub. Great place, would stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks very much Tim!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon B
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Double Family Trip!”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Decided to take a vacation with some amazing friends so ended up with 4 adults. 3 kids and a dog. Tuwanek was the perfect place for us! The room setup was great, and the amenities included such as the hot tub were all in great condition. The location so close to the beach meant that the canoe and kayaks included were well used. Everything you might need is provided, plus plenty of things that are extra perks (such as a very eclectic CD collection lol)

For me the only thing that could have made this better would be hammocks in the back yard :P

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The canoe and provided lifejackets etc
Liked least: No yard for the kids to run around in, but the close proximity to the beaches made this not a problem.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thanks very much Shannon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin K
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cabin had everything we needed...clean, prepped and every detail accounted for. The hottub was a dream, the firepit and outdoor seating area is very comfortable....we just loved the touches in the decor (even outside, with many artful touches to the surrounding woods). Minus the construction next door, it was a perfect stay...and the construction noise was minimal...however present.

Take out the canoes and kayaks, and go for a dip in the warm inlet from the smaller beach. Thanks Lori and co., you have a very nice home. We will be back.

Cheers

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thanks Jasmine. We look forward to having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing