We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise on the sunshine coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sechelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Winds Beach House & Spa
Ranked #7 of 27 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Recently stayed at the four winds for 3 nights, it wasn't long enough! The house has a lovely peaceful atmosphere, and David, one of the owners was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and hikes etc, we followed his advice and were not disappointed, he also cooked us an amazing breakfast each morning and brought it up to our room. We stayed in the spa room which has a stunning view over the sea and across to Vancouver island. The shower and bath facilities were great too. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Alextrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

There was nothing particularly wrong with the Four Winds Beach House, but after viewing the web site, we had high expectations. The rooms were adequate with a great ocean view, but there was no real storage space for our clothing, the lighting was inadequate and the bathroom was small and cheesy. In addition, access to the water was quite limited. There are probably better choices in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wadsworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Wonderful sea side B&B - excellent view, services and food - top notch spot

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Host_at_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

after reading the review submitted complaining about the quality of four winds i felt compelled to respond. i have visited this b&b over thirty times in the last eight years, usually when doing business in the sechelt area. i have stayed in all three rooms and never have found them to be less than impeccable in cleanliness. i can only guess that the experience the party who complained was really a " one off " for this establishment.
the owners are most accommodating to any arrival schedule i have had over the years, and the location and vista are second to none. the rooms are well appointed and the overall atmosphere of the place is very comfortable.
i have travelled throughout the world, and have stayed at many high end hotels and b&b's. four winds is as well appointed and comfortable as any place i have stayed. i have no reservations recommending it for any traveller visiting the sechelt area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bnh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

My wife and I just recently got married and we were given a mini honeymoon by some very good friends of ours who planned our stay at Four Winds. We very much enjoyed the India room, which consists of two separate rooms with a little kitchenette, an ensuite bathroom, DVD player, steps away from the hot tub and much more. The breakfast was unbelievable and we very much enjoyed our stay. Very relaxing! The view was very beautiful and the owners ensured that everything was perfect for our stay. We definitely plan to return to the Four Winds B&B and Spa in the future and recommend it to anyone who is planning to visit the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FCBayernFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

As advertised this was a lovely oceanside location, with a beautiful view. Not as advertised, however, was the shabby, dreary feel of the room and furnishings. The Spa suite at $199/night was probably only worth half that.

The deficiencies were numerous, including:

lack of baseboards, dirty carpets, dirty/dusty sliding screen door, stained bathrobe, etc. etc,

Though the luxury "Spa Suite" is advertised as "newly renovated", the furnishings and finishing (especially bathroom and kitchenette) definitely appeared to be from the 70's era. We missed any comfortable chairs to relax in (the ones provided were wrought iron patio furniture and uncomfortable).

We also were looking forward to the advertised "afternoon tea and scones" which the host said had not been done for a number of years.

All in all, not what we expected for the price and description!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0tahappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fourwindsbb, owner at Four Winds Beach House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2008

I am sorry about your experience at Four Winds Beach House and Spa. My biggest disappointment is that you didn’t enjoy your stay. It is our job to provide relaxing, waterfront vacations with fine foods and incredible views. We serve over a 1000 people a year, and we don’t wish anyone to go away unhappy.

For the things you found so disturbing, dust on the screens and dirt on the carpet, there is no excuse, but sometimes things get overlooked when the room is booked night after night through our busy summer. I can assure you that those things have been taken care of. Your comments about the furnishings surprise me; the Spa Suite is the room that is most often requested by our repeat customers.

I realize that some of your anger is over my refusal to release you from the second room night you had guaranteed. You mentioned that at hotels you can cancel on the same day. Unfortunately, as we have only 3 rooms, we require a more restrictive cancellation policy than 48 or 24 hours cancellation required by large hotels. We provide full breakfasts with a fruit plate, fresh baking, and a hot breakfast dish. We plan these meals in advance and last minute cancellations would mean not only a vacant room but also spoiled food, something we try to avoid.

Let me clarify the tea and scones issue. Before 1999 we routinely offered tea and scones when guests arrived. However, that was unfair for many guest that could not arrive on time for tea, and unfair to us who had prepared tea and scones for them. In 1999 we removed reference to tea and scones from any of the sites we pay to advertise on (there may still be sites that reference my scones that I cannot access) and now just offer them by special request for a nominal charge. I still list tea and scones on the brochure and can offer them when schedules permit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Apart from the fact that the Sunshine Coast didn't live up to its name all that well, this was a fantastic place to stay. We took the Spa suite - stunning colours, a great bed, superb views of the water, & spacious! I have stayed in hotel rooms smaller than the bathroom. The first night we left the doors open & went to sleep to the sounds of waves on the rocks below & the lights of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island across the water. David & Brenda were excellent hosts & David's breakfasts were quite exceptional. All in all, we both felt that this was one of the best B&Bs we have ever been to - the friendly welcome, the breakfasts, the standard of the room, & especially the setting. It is one of our best memories from our 7 weeks in BC.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delynrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
13.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
408 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
8.1 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#3 of 27 in Sechelt
318 reviews
3.3 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#6 of 27 in Sechelt
165 reviews
3.1 mi away
Above the Inlet B and B and Vacation Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Winds Beach House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Winds Beach House & Spa

Address: 5482 Hill Rd, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range: $116 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Winds Beach House & Spa is perched on a rocky point, jutting into the waters of Georgia Strait. Sheltered from the brunt of the south easterlies by Trail Islands, Four Winds is a magnificent view point for the wilds of a winter storm or the beautiful calm of a summer day. Our guest wing (the "West Wing") is on the lee side of the point so you will sleep snugly, marveling to the sounds of the water just below your windows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Winds Beach House & Spa Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing