We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base for sightseeing midway along the Sunshine Coast”
Review of At The Shore B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
At The Shore B&B
Ranked #4 of 26 Sechelt B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“An excellent base for sightseeing midway along the Sunshine Coast”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A lot of folk come to the Sunshine Coast for a look around spanning a couple of days. If that is you, then At the Shore is a place you might seriously consider. The populated Sunshine Coast up to Egmont is a long, skinny band primarily along the coast. While not a huge distance from Egmont to the ferry, travel is slow, and there are lots of interesting diversions all along the way. Sechelt time wise is more or less midway along, and staying there allows one to range in both directions without much more than an hour's one way travel. That being said, most of Sechelt town is quiet uninteresting. Does this not override its locational advantage?

I don't think so. At the Shore is located on the *other* water at Schelt--on the side of the huge inlet extending down from the Egmont area. The locale, right on the water, is peaceful and relaxing, and while the so-so main town is only a few minutes away you have no sense of this while there.

Moreover--and this is important--I agree completely with the general tone of other reviews touting the particulars of At the Shore, even if I don't think there's value in duplicating them here. Give the place a try!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
120
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We celebrated our Honeymoon by exploring the Sunshine Coast, staying a week at this B&B. Our host was warm, friendly and accommodating; the food was exceptional and the coffee was gourmet; our room was spotless, luxuriously comfortable, and spacious; the view over Sechelt Inlet was spectacular; and the location was central to all the things we wanted to do. The hot tub soothed our aching muscles after hiking and kayaking, and direct beach access provided quiet times shared only with the wildlife. We could not have found a better place to enjoy our honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spotlessly clean, beautifully apointed, tastefully decorated and oh so very quiet - except for the Bald Eagles!
Your own private deck area to gaze at the beautiful view across the water and lovely amenities, large shower and seperate soaker tub with jets.
Would love to return and would highly recommend to anyone wishing to escape to the Sunshine Coast.
Oh and the home-cooked breakfast with fresh baking was amazing. Norma makes great pancakes and muffins!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in the B&B and the one I stayed in could not be improved upon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just celebrated our 21st anniversary. My husband was suggested by his co-worker this amazing place and instantly fell in love with it! Starting at the friendly greeting we received to the amazing room we stayed in to the awesome hot tub and oceanfront we explored, and as we both thought it couldn't get any better we arrived back and found a note slipped under our door saying that there is sherry and cookies awaiting us in the hallway. In the morning we experienced the best gourmet gluten-free breakfast (as per our request) and had a lovely view which complimented the whole experience. A true westcoast retreat which we will be revisiting annually!

Room Tip: Book in advance if possible and staying more than one night would be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbvondruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed "At The Shore" for three amazing nights in the Bluenose Suite and can't wait to make a return trip. Peter & Norma made us feel right at home and spoiled us with their incredible breakfasts and warm hospitality. A must visit for anyone looking for a little peace and quiet with a spectacular view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I would highly recommend this lovely spot. Everything about it, is perfect. The hosts are gracious, the room is spotless, views are amazing, breakfast is excellent, wildlife viewing spectacular, gardens and property are well maintained with a lovely beach water front access.
If you have never been to a B&B before, this will set the standards high and you will not be disappointed.
Ask Peter for directions as the GPS will take you on dirt roads to no where. Once you've found the place its not far from town. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent two nights at "At The Shore B&B". Upon arrival we were immediately met by our welcoming and friendly hosts, Norma & Peter. We felt right at home. We noticed the attention to detail right away, first with the impressive gardens and waterfront location, then with our well decorated and well appointed suite. The gorgeous view, private deck, Jacuzzi tub and cozy fireplace were little luxuries. We even got to choose our selections from the daily breakfast menu, and having it served to our suite was a nice personal touch.
Breakfasts on fine china, down duvets and pillows, fine linens, bathrobes & slippers, and of course the idealic location, make this a lovely B&B for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
13.6 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
356 reviews
13.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
800 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
315 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Shore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Shore B&B

Property: At The Shore B&B
Address: 6394 Gale Ave N, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At The Shore B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your At The Shore B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Shore B&B Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing