We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the rough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Sky Motel

Blue Sky Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sky Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is great! It may not look like much but the rooms are updated and clean, the owners are awesome and the views are spectacular! We have been back twice in the last month just to enjoy the evening sunset from our motel chairs. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area!

Thanks-you for your great hospitality Jordan and family.

Room Tip: Pick a room up front for full view of the ocean and a handy kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    6
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I couldn't have asked for more! Do not judge a book by its cover is exactly what this place is. I loved staying here! It had a beautiful view of the ocean, very very clean, and the staff was absolutely friendly and nice!! Would not stay at any other place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eykim727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a classic, vintage motel with super clean rooms by the beach. It reminds me of similar places on Route 66. The friendly owners have paid huge attention to detail in their restoration of this retro place with its beach theme. I have been staying here for 15 years and I highly recommend this low cost accomodation; the only place where Elvis would have stayed on the Sunshine Coast! The sea breezes blow throughout the place and it is particularly peaceful at both sunrise and sunset.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I usually do not write review because I like people to be their own judge, but sometimes you just have to let people know if there's a good find. I've been to Blue Sky Motel with my family about 15 years ago and you could not ask for a more friendly staff, clean rooms and beautiful and amazing view of the sunset and sunrise. So after 15+ years you would think that a motel would be dirty with old angry staffs......ehhh wrong!! My parents recently came back from a month stay here and they could not have asked for a better place to stay. It's rare to find a place and go there a second time and the experience is even better. From the pictures they brought back, I can see that they have repainted their place as well. Besides the view, when you walk out of your room, you see the ocean in front of you and I heard if your lucky you can get a glimpse of the whale. If you are planning a trip out to sunshine coast, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Blue Sky is the only place I will stay when visitng the sunshine coast! you have a 24 hour view of the ocean, and sometimes you may even be lucky enough to spot a whale! You get a real family at home feel when you are there. Clean and quiet rooms. it feels like you are staying at a cabin on the lake! o
The couple who runs the motel are so friendly and helpful.
I'd really recommend the Blue Sky to anyone. You can't beat the service, view and feeling of home when you are there!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Blue Sky is an older motel across the Sunshine Coast Highway from Davis Bay just a few minutes from the town of Sechelt. The 11 units includes standard motel rooms with fridge and coffee makers as well as larger, family size units with full kitchen facilities. The units are freshly painted with new, comfortable mattresses on all beds. Many of the spotlessly clean units have spectacular views across Georgia Strait to Vancouver Island. A pleasant restaurant and two markets with delis are just a few paces away from the motel.

Owner/managers Jordan and Elena could not be friendlier or better hosts. Their response to any request is "no problem" and they are clearly dedicated to making their guests comfortable.

Keeping in mind that this is not a Marriott or Hilton, I have no hesitation recommending this reasonably priced motel to Sunshine Coast visitors. My wife and I will return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nickpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a family run motel so those caring for the place are not just doing a job but are passionate about what they are doing. Service was fantastic. Motel is older but clean and the beds are good. I teased my husband and asked whether there would be chocolates on my pillow and he smiled at me when we were in the room as there were nice little chocolates on the table beside the bed.

Location is right across from the beach and a convenience store next door. I loved this place and will stay here again next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a back (non-view) room if you are worried about road noise. We did and heard nothing and sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KootenayKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
9.6 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
127 reviews
18.1 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
316 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
122 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
56 reviews
13.1 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Motel

Property: Blue Sky Motel
Address: 4726 Sunshine Coast Hwy | Highway 101, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Blue Sky Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Motel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing