We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such nice people”
Review of Blue Sky Motel

Blue Sky Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Sky Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“such nice people”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Blue Sky and was pleasantly surprised!!
I had stayed there about 5 years ago and it was a nice location, but the felt like it needed work. Amazing what can be done in 5 years!! I arrived to find a nice couple to great me at the front desk and could see right away the amount of work that had been done.
The rooms were spotless and upgraded immensely from the last time we were there and the hotel was conveniently located close to town and right on the water.
I would highly recommend this little beauty for anyone who wants a quiet little place to relax.
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    6
    7
    11
See reviews for
28
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roberts Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A lot of work has been done to update this little gem and the motel is fresh, clean and comfortable . It has been around for a long time ( we have stayed years ago) and we were impressed with the new look of the rooms. The young man who runs it is so friendly and even found us places to stay further up the coast when we were leaving. It is right across the street from the beach and next to a great coffee shop and store. A wonderful place to take the kids, with a sandy beach within a short walk. Our room had a kitchen and separate bedroom making it affordable for our vacation. We loved it. It may not be for everyone, but if you are looking for cute, clean, affordable and friendly (and who isn't) it is a super place.

Room Tip: Pick rooms 1 to 4 for an ocean view but the back rooms may be quieter. All are stair free so great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have put off sending this until now as I was so angry that I originally called Hello BC and lodged a complaint about this little motel.

I was on a road trip with my boyfriend last year on his motorcycle. We toured up the sunshine coast and had a great time until we pulled into the Blue Sky Motel. We has chatted about a place to stay and thought this might be a good spot. As we pulled up and I got off the back of the bike I fainted due to dehydration ( i apparently did not drink enough water as I am a new motorcycle passanger). As my poor boyfriend was trying to pick me up and helped me to a chair in front of one of the rooms and got me some water from the store next to the motel, the owner/manager (an asian/korean fellow) came around the corner and my boyfriend asked how much were the rooms were. He did not answer him and just looked at me with the water bottle on my lip ( when I fell I went face first into the gravel- thankfully I still has the helmet on which saved more facial damage.) He then shouted at us to "Just leave" and kept repeating it. I told him I fell and needed to dit for a minute and he kept yelling for us to leave.

We are peaceful people and I work as an employment counsellor in Vancouver BC and I was shocked an appauled that another human would not even care about a person in need. After about15 minutes we left on the bike (we should have called an ambulance just in case) and stopped at a gas station where I was attended to by an ambulace driver who happended to be gassing up as well.

DONT Stay at this place (dont patronize a motel that does not care about people). I have told every one I have come accross in my travels to not stay at the Blue Sky motel (even it it looks like a cute littel place to stay). Dont give your hard earned dollars to an uncaring owner.

Check out the Sunny Crest Motel in Gibsons instead - better value, nicer people.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. I have called "Hello BC" to lodge a complaint about this place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrumptious_crump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sechelt hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted to stay there this past weekend, but it was full. Yet, when we called, the owner kindly recommended another motel to us (which turned out to be a really good one too) and not only that, offered to call around more places for us if we couldn't find lodging there. I was impressed and touched by his kindness. We hope to stay there the next time we go back to the Sunshine Coast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This motel is a gem! Yes it's older, but so very clean. And I can't say more about the family that runs it. So friendly, kind and good natured. Was exactly what we were looking for. I believe ever room has a kitchen. Full stove, apartment size fridge and all the plates cutlery etc. Ask for a room with a view, the beach is right across the street. Sunset is beautiful. They have a BBQ you can use as well. Amazing service, and good value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were working a contract in the area and my boss suggested this place. I loved it! Sure, it's an older establishment, but the owner is very courteous and the rooms were very clean. You are literally across the street from a great beach with a pier to go crabbing from. If you are used to 5-star hotels, this is not the place for you. But if you want to feel comfortable, like you are visiting an old friend, then definitely come here. I would suggest the front rooms, which are bigger and afford an excellent view. I went to a couple of places in the area to look for rooms, and this one was my favorite for the price by far.

Room Tip: Rooms up front have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TacoJohn_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have been going to the blue sky motel for about 15 years maybe even longer, we want to retire in the same area.it is so peaceful and the view is wonderful.If you have young children this is the place for you.Restaurant,beach ,bus convenience store beside everything you need is right there.It is clean and the family that own it are so nice.I recommended this place to many friends and they all love it.You don't need a 5 star to be happy there,trust me.

Room Tip: I like all the rooms,but with children #7 is awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachmama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
9.6 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
18.1 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
359 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#5 of 5 in Sechelt
19 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
63 reviews
13.1 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Motel

Property: Blue Sky Motel
Address: 4726 Sunshine Coast Hwy | Highway 101, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Sky Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Motel Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing