We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undecided”
Review of The Driftwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
“Undecided”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Loved the location...easy walk to the beach and to town....not great for a nights sleep with traffic, construction right out our window and inconsiderate guests who don't recoginise that others are sleeping. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and considerate and lowered our rates but still would hesitate to come back if construction was still in effect and only a roadside room available. One footnote...comment card in room but no pen???????

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; glad that you found our staff helpful. As I have noted before we will also be thankful when the construction is over. After two years of it we are finally nearing the end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
29
43
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
british columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location in Sechelt! Love that it was right on the water. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The shower was very temperamental, couldn't keep it a consistent temperature and unfortunately because of the condos being build next door we were not aware there would be construction right outside of our room at 7:30am. Simple and clean, it provided what we needed but next time we would explore some more of the bed and breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review; we apologise for the construction. It has been the bane of our lives for two years now but thankfully is due to be completed by Christmas! The exterior noisy work is just about done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location; right beside the beach yet close to shops and everything. We booked the ocean view room with kitchenett and quite enjoyed the view. The beds are comfortable. Enjoyed walking along the beach on both sides and kids had great time playing at the playground nearby. The staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view room! Definately worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review; while we get a lot of positive feedback every day it is always nice to have some in writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's a bit of a trek to get to Sechelt, especially when you're riding a bike from Vancouver like I did (with help from B.C. Ferries.) But once you get there, it's a cute Canadian seaside town, with a fantastic coastal and rainforesty mountain view. Too bad the Driftwood isn't as good as the settings. It's not BAD, just average, a bit dated, like 1980s-looking. I didn't like the narrow stairways to my second-floor room, because I was lugging my off-road bike. It would have also been a hassle if I had big suitcases. At least the room had plenty of space to park the bike overnight. I'm sure those mud stains will come out of the carpet! But not if your rug shampoo is as cheap as the shampoo and other amenities in the room. I can accept a shonky beach hotel -- I lived in Australia, after all -- but not for that price. It was $169 with whatever the latest sales tax scheme is for a single person (rack rate, no advance booking.) The front-desk service was oddly detached during check-in and -out. Both clerks were more focused on their computer screen and my credit card than me, the customer. The double-play of disinterest told me what's REALLY important at The Driftwood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water, because the back ones are booooooring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bukko_Canukko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. The hotel was built in 1980 which would explain why we look that way! We do our best to look after our guests and if my desk clerks seemed preoccupied I apologise. It has been a very busy summer with many good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good location, right on the beach and great beds, so we had a good night's sleep.
No air-conditioning, but there was a fan in the room, luckily it wasn't too hot that day.
For the quality of the Inn,and being in a small town, the room was quite pricy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After a long day of travel, both via auto and BC Ferry, this was a welcome location for a tired traveler. Located in the waterfront in Sechelt, BC, with an in-house restaurant and a walking path along the water, it was a real treat. The food was excellent, the room average while clean, but the best was the beauty that only Coastal BC has to offer. This was the most expensive hotel on our 5 day trip however overall rated high of our stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in Sechelt at the Driftwood Inn based on some reviews, location on the ocean and that Sechelt was larger than Gibsons. We should have stayed in Gibsons.

The Inn is a 2 storey motel that needs updating desparately. We were on the upper floor ad had to carry our luggage up the stairs. Our room had no air conditioning, a small fan, no air flow and was extremely hot. We could not sleep a wink based on the heat in the room. The bed was passable and the other furniture needs updating. We paid $120 (we got a deal - rack rate is much higher) for the night and the room should not have been valued higher than $79. The only bonus was the location, which was right on the ocean.

We will not be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We do try to please all of our guests but cannot control the summer heat. As I have said before we are looking in to solutions for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sechelt hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
11.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
15.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Property: The Driftwood Inn
Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is centrally located in Sechelt, the heart of the Sunshine Coast. We are on the waterfront only a few feet away from the beach. We offer a variety of rooms including standard doubles and king rooms plus waterfront rooms and suites. Our restaurant named Pebbles serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in west coast cuisine. We also have a meeting/function room that can seat up to 55 persons. We are close to shopping, banks and many recreational activities in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing