We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old tired motel in a fabulous location”
Review of The Driftwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“old tired motel in a fabulous location”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is GOLD for this motel. The staff are polite and pleasant.The motel is very old which could be ok if the place had been updated on a regular basis over the years. This isn't the case here.We've been here before and haven't really noticed the cosmetic updates that apparently have been done.. The location is so good, right by the beach and a couple of blocks to the downtown Sechelt stores.The rooms themselves at this time of year are unbearably hot with no air conditioning and a cheap fan provided, most of which didn't work properly. This meant that everyone left their door and window wide open all night in order to sleep. No one was able to enter and stay in the rooms until late at night. The rooms only cooled down marginally and this meant that people were sitting on the upper walkway and in the parking lot until very late at night chatting and perhaps drinking a cold one. We were told, when we asked, that the chance of air conditioning being done is nil because the place is too old. The beds are ok, bathrooms are hot and steamy even with a ceiling vent fan.We go for the car show and this was the same situation as last year. Some of our group has stayed here five or more years and they say it's pretty much the same. There is not a lot of choice as there is very limited options downtown. As a group we've decided to skip next year as there are several other car shows in beautiful locations near larger facilities. Perhaps a different (cooler) time of year would be ok , especially if you love to walk or sit right by the ocean and still be close to some interesting shops. Wonder what will happen when all the apartments in the newly built condo next door are sold. bet they won't like the noise of people sitting outside until late at night. The place is not overpriced for the excellent location but it is overpriced for the extreme discomfort and inconvenience in hot weather.

Room Tip: only a few rooms facing the ocean, perhaps try one of these rooms , may be able to catch a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danann2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It has been hotter than usual this year with no rain at all in all of July.
Since the trees were cut down around us it has removed the late evening shade so we are pricing out air conditioning for the rooms before next summer. We do reinvest all we make each year and did spend $80,000 in updates last year. There are however limits to the amount that we can do based upon finances and the present economy has not helped. Rest assured that we are striving to do our best for our guests with the resources that we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
29
43
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I reviewd other comments and wonder at the level of the individuals expectations of quality. For me, and I am not super picky, this place is a DUMP. No air, dirty floors, marginal washroom, and, at best poor front desk service.
This place is not at all like it is presented in its web site. Huge construction project next door, too much street drinking outside. Felt unsafe to walk about in the evening.
Stay away. It is way over priced by 50%.

Room Tip: Don 't purchase a room, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlakebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sechelt hotels

Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel is older but, effort is being made to update it. Room was sparsely furnished but bed was comfortable. No air conditioning. One small fan but it has not been cleaned for quite some time it appears. Quiet location. Air conditioning units in windows would be an added benefit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review; we are finding this summer hotter than usual. Perhaps because of losing all the trees around us! We are looking in to air conditioning for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Comfy beds, nice linen, great location, the beach is right there and the view is amazing. Great service from the front desk. Had breakfast in the restaurant, good food and service. The fan in the bathroom should have a separate turn-on switch from the lights so you can have the lights on without the fan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I agree that separate switches for the bathroom fans would be nice but when we looked in to it we found out that having only one switch was necessary to avoid problems with condensation and mould.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked in for two days while visiting a sick friend in Sechelt. Have been here before in the Pebbles dining room but have not stayed in the motel. Was surprised by how dated the place is, bathroom plumbing needs upgrading, room was hot - cheap portable fan, no A/C. Phone didn't work for outdialing(this was fixed), coffee maker only made warm coffee.
Bed was comfortable, you can't beat the location and the water view and walkway. Okay but would hope for some owner upgrades before staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same unless you pay more for a waterfront room, questionable choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us; we are aware that our property is 33 years old and do try to make updates every winter. Last year it was the lobby, drapes, TVs, carpets for some rooms amongst other things. It does seem that our hot nights are becoming more numerous over the last couple of years so we are considering installing air conditioning in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location of the Driftwood Inn is superb - a truly seaside resort - walking distance to shops and restaurants - the room was clean, a bit tired and worn - no noise from other rooms even though the resort was full - there was a fan in the room but no air-conditioning - service was friendly - overall a good stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie154946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments; we try to renovate 25% of our rooms every winter to keep them fresh. The rooms do however get a lot of use; some kinder than others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This beach is soooo beautiful, you will want to take walks on it every moment you can!! the fish and chips at pebbles are also very good:) for nature, don't miss out Skumkumchuck Narrows Pass Trail where you can view magnificent whirl pools and waves but must go at the right time. All info can be obtained from the visitor centre. For bakery, don't miss our sheer bliss cafe! the scones are YUMMY!!! Oh yeah, if you are in Madeira Park dont miss out Grasshopper Pub, the indian dishes are so good especially the prawn curry dish. Never had such good dish before in Vancouver. Molly Reach restaurant is also good for its food.....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Satipanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review! Summer is here now and we are enjoying seeing various families staying with us and also enjoying Pebbles Restaurant and the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
11.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
15.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Property: The Driftwood Inn
Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is centrally located in Sechelt, the heart of the Sunshine Coast. We are on the waterfront only a few feet away from the beach. We offer a variety of rooms including standard doubles and king rooms plus waterfront rooms and suites. Our restaurant named Pebbles serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in west coast cuisine. We also have a meeting/function room that can seat up to 55 persons. We are close to shopping, banks and many recreational activities in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing