We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if at all possible”
Review of The Driftwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Driftwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid if at all possible”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I reviewd other comments and wonder at the level of the individuals expectations of quality. For me, and I am not super picky, this place is a DUMP. No air, dirty floors, marginal washroom, and, at best poor front desk service.
This place is not at all like it is presented in its web site. Huge construction project next door, too much street drinking outside. Felt unsafe to walk about in the evening.
Stay away. It is way over priced by 50%.

Room Tip: Don 't purchase a room, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlakebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
31
43
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spruce Grove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel is older but, effort is being made to update it. Room was sparsely furnished but bed was comfortable. No air conditioning. One small fan but it has not been cleaned for quite some time it appears. Quiet location. Air conditioning units in windows would be an added benefit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review; we are finding this summer hotter than usual. Perhaps because of losing all the trees around us! We are looking in to air conditioning for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Comfy beds, nice linen, great location, the beach is right there and the view is amazing. Great service from the front desk. Had breakfast in the restaurant, good food and service. The fan in the bathroom should have a separate turn-on switch from the lights so you can have the lights on without the fan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I agree that separate switches for the bathroom fans would be nice but when we looked in to it we found out that having only one switch was necessary to avoid problems with condensation and mould.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked in for two days while visiting a sick friend in Sechelt. Have been here before in the Pebbles dining room but have not stayed in the motel. Was surprised by how dated the place is, bathroom plumbing needs upgrading, room was hot - cheap portable fan, no A/C. Phone didn't work for outdialing(this was fixed), coffee maker only made warm coffee.
Bed was comfortable, you can't beat the location and the water view and walkway. Okay but would hope for some owner upgrades before staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same unless you pay more for a waterfront room, questionable choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us; we are aware that our property is 33 years old and do try to make updates every winter. Last year it was the lobby, drapes, TVs, carpets for some rooms amongst other things. It does seem that our hot nights are becoming more numerous over the last couple of years so we are considering installing air conditioning in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location of the Driftwood Inn is superb - a truly seaside resort - walking distance to shops and restaurants - the room was clean, a bit tired and worn - no noise from other rooms even though the resort was full - there was a fan in the room but no air-conditioning - service was friendly - overall a good stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie154946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments; we try to renovate 25% of our rooms every winter to keep them fresh. The rooms do however get a lot of use; some kinder than others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This beach is soooo beautiful, you will want to take walks on it every moment you can!! the fish and chips at pebbles are also very good:) for nature, don't miss out Skumkumchuck Narrows Pass Trail where you can view magnificent whirl pools and waves but must go at the right time. All info can be obtained from the visitor centre. For bakery, don't miss our sheer bliss cafe! the scones are YUMMY!!! Oh yeah, if you are in Madeira Park dont miss out Grasshopper Pub, the indian dishes are so good especially the prawn curry dish. Never had such good dish before in Vancouver. Molly Reach restaurant is also good for its food.....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Satipanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review! Summer is here now and we are enjoying seeing various families staying with us and also enjoying Pebbles Restaurant and the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room was very clean. Bed was comfortable. Could use
some updating. Fan in bathroom very loud and didn't work to
take the steam out of the room. Not very sound proof. Heard
neighbours and loud noise from others shower.

Good location to shopping, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: If your willing to pay about $40.00 more the ocean view rooms are probably much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment; I am afraid that the bathroom fans are a necessary evil in order to provide ventilation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
11.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
15.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
359 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#4 of 5 in Sechelt
18 reviews
11.0 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
803 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Property: The Driftwood Inn
Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is centrally located in Sechelt, the heart of the Sunshine Coast. We are on the waterfront only a few feet away from the beach. We offer a variety of rooms including standard doubles and king rooms plus waterfront rooms and suites. Our restaurant named Pebbles serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in west coast cuisine. We also have a meeting/function room that can seat up to 55 persons. We are close to shopping, banks and many recreational activities in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing